Namasté y’all

Hi everyone… this is my first post here on WordPress and wanted to say a quick hello to everyone here in the blogosphere… specifically all the UU types out there.

Sooo…. hello.

So I guess in the technical definition of a Deist…. they don’t normally give much credence to holy books, scripture or “revealed” religions, etc, so it may seem a little odd for a Deist to use a Hindu greeting.

But like all good UUs, I believe there is some Truth in all. For me, “big T” Truth means, The Divine, God, The Ultimate Reality, Allah, Brahma, [insert your word for Spirit of Love here]. So I may on occasion start or end a post with “Namasté.” Blessed Be. Amen. Shalom or reference a biblical story or scripture for effect. You get the picture.

Have a good weekend everyone.

By the way…  Happy Summer Solstice to all! (ok, so I missed it by a day but I just got up and running on this.)

10 responses to “Namasté y’all

  1. Hello,

    Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me” (John 14:6).

    Shouldn’t you totally reject the Bible and Jesus, since He claimed to be the truth, and rejected all others? If you’re choosing all others, you’re essentially rejecting Jesus’ claim. Didn’t He make such bold claims that you either have to believe that He is God, or reject Him as a lunatic?

    I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. Hey Bill!… well, I’ve got to admit this is surprising and pretty cool. My first response. Thanks! To be completely honest I figured I would sit here a couple of times a week, tap out a few posts, go to the stats page and see…. 0. The big goose egg. So… hello and thanks for stopping by and leaving something.

    So, enough with the hellos.

    You asked a couple of questions… 1. Yeah, you might think it could be either A or B, black or white but if you read my “a little about me” page, I don’t really like blanket statements. But you’re giving me a choice here.

    So yes, I reject the idea that Jesus is the only Truth. Did Jesus say that?… I don’t think so. I think some jerk-off was writing that down well after He was dead and gone, attributing it to Jesus with the intent of pulling scared, little sheep into the fold. Hey I could be wrong. I’ve been wrong before but I don’t believe in the inerrancy of the Christian Holy Book.

    So I look for teachings that are similar… that span across other religious traditions… you know like, love your neighbor… respect your parents… stuff like that and deciding for myself that they are True. It’s kinda like one scientist saying “i state for all to hear that gravity keeps us bound to the earth.” Then another scientist saying the same thing and claiming his version is the truth and the other guy’s isn’t. Substitute Jesus and Buddah for scientist 1 and 2. They’re saying the same things. Neither is more True than the other.
    But when some guy says shit like “I am the only way…” whatever, man… that’s not truth. That’s a statement of fear.

    Let’s see your second question (dude… sorry for the really long reply by the way) I’d have to say, no. I don’t think you HAVE to view Him as either God or a lunatic. I think you can view Him (or more accurately) the teachings attributed to Jesus of Nazareth, as a prophet dispelling Truth at a time when people were hungry for it and power brokers didn’t want to hear it. Does that make him crazy or Godly. Heck, i don’t know… but He had bigger balls than me. I don’t know if I could have done without being behind the virtual walls of a blog. : )

    Peace brother… may blessings abound in your life.
    By the way Bill… sincerely… thanks for stopping by. I hope I didn’t offend you with my vernacular. If it does let me know and I’ll refrain but that’s just kinda the way i talk. I really should stop it to be honest… disrespectful to myself and others. Acknowledging it is the first step right. : )

  3. Jules,

    Don’t worry about your language, as long as you realize you’ll have to give an account for it someday. I appreciate your forthrightness.

    You can say someone made up the Bible, but all of Jesus’ statements make sense. In order for Christianity to work, He has to be God. He has to be sinless; He has to have risen from the dead, or the whole thing falls apart.

    I think the whole gospel makes more sense if you look at the Ten Commandments–God’s law. I’m sure you agree with them as a decent guide for life, but have you kept them?

    Have you ever told a lie? Have you ever stolen something, regardless of how long ago, and regardless of the value? Jesus said that if you look at a woman with lust, you’ve committed adultery with her already in your heart. Have you ever looked at someone with lust? That’s only three of the ten, and I have to admit to you that I’ve broken all ten. If you’ve broken those three, you’re a liar, a thief, and an adulterer-at-heart.

    I don’t know what you think is going to happen after you die, but give me a big “if” here. IF the Bible is true, and you have to stand before God on Judgment Day, what will He do with you? Heaven or hell?

    I was also wondering what namaste means.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  4. Namasté (try this link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namaste ) is a Hindi salutation and goodbye phrase (you know… like “aloha”) that has the connotation, “the Divine in me recognizes the Divine in you” or literally “i bow to you”. It has some spiritual connotations but to my understanding is also a “good manners” kind of thing as well. Kinda the way us Southern boys will say “ma’am” even to a woman who is the same age as us. Just polite… kinda states, “my momma raised me right.”
    About your next set of questions… you know, it sounds like we’re gonna get into a theological debate that I’m sure will end in a “we’re just not gonna see eye to eye.” You think I’m wrong and gonna burn in hell. I think The Divine is more forgiving than that.
    But hey… if your spiritual path makes you a better person, you treat your fellow man with love and respect and you get a little closer to God than if you didn’t follow your Christian path… well, that’s pretty damn good. I think my path does the same for me. So with that thought in mind and what I said about the connotation of namasté….
    Namasté Bill. May God’s Light shine within you always and I have the ability to recognize it.
    Jules.

  5. Jules,

    I’ll only speak about what I know about myself. There is nothing divine in me. I’ve broken God’s law and I deserve to burn for eternity. The Bible says my heart is desperately wicked, and that was a hard pill to swallow, but that truth has proven itself over and over.

    Have fun blogging!

    Bill

  6. So Jules,

    How’s it going being a Deist in your local UU congregation? Have you got a circle of Deist friends there to share thoughts with? BTW, what corner of Texas are you in?

    David

  7. Hey Dave…
    Being a Deist in my congregation… eh, it’s not so bad. We’ve got quite a few very open Pagans and Athiests and there are some that are Theists, i think, but they’re in the closet about it. : )

    I can’t help but think for a lot of UUs around the country that’s it’s hard having Christian, Deist or Theist leanings being in a UU congregation. Even mentioning the historical Jesus and you can literally see the Humanists cringe in my congregation.

    So…. I decided to do Children’s Worship. Beautiful little sages! Weird for me to be doing that ’cause I don’t really deal well with little kids. But they’ve taught me a lot of patience over the past 10 months or so as well as a little wisdom.

    Anyway… I’m down in the Gulf Coast Plains near Houston.

    Jules

  8. Jules, I think it must be hard being a Deist in a Texan UU congregation sometimes. My mother’s kin are from Houston and my father’s are from a little farming town south of Dallas, but they both moved North so I’d be born out of Texas. That means I grew up in a New England UU church, where God and various approaches to the Divine are welcome. But whenever I go to UU churches in Houston when we’re visiting relatives, I notice how much more hostility there is from Texan and other Southern UUs toward God and such.

    I think it has to be that in the North, we’re not threatened daily by the prejudices and hypocrisies of evangelical Christianity, so we’re much more comfortable with God and all. Plus, we’ve got a much older U/U tradition that goes back to the Puritans, who were certainly a bunch of God-fearing folk. But in the South, most UUs are converts from the more icky forms of Christianity and they’re running like hell to get away from all the poison they got saddled with in childhood. They don’t want to hear about God or the Bible or even so much as the fairly benign and nebulous Deity of the Deists–they want Humanism straight up and with few frills, or in some cases they want Neo-paganism since it’s something so different from their own background.

    Anyway, I’m just musing here. It just occurs to me that it’s harder to be a theistical UU in the South than in the North. Not because Northerners are more open-minded but just because the overall social environment leaves more room for people to find a comfortable personal relationship with God.

    Oh, one last comment. I was taught that God is love and that in the Gospels Jesus is more of an incarnation of love than some sort of super-hero. So when the Bible makes him say that nobody gets to God except through him, I’ve always nodded my head in agreement. After all, nobody gets to God except by living in love. Now, Jesus isn’t the exclusive vehicle for love–after all, just about every religion worth its salt says more or less the same thing. So it isn’t that Jesus is the one way, but rather that the love that Jesus embodies is the one way (which may have any number of legitimate expressions, such as through Buddhism, Christianity, or Islam practiced in the spirit of true love and humility). Just sharing what my UU upbrining taught me about that scripture.

  9. Dude!… it’s like you’re reading my mind! Couldn’t have said it any better. I think you’re right on the money with your two reasons why Southern UUs have a harder time even with moderate Christianity.

    Thanks for stopping in and “musing” : )
    Wonderful perspective and gave me a great way to articulate what I couldn’t quite get out but was thinking. Hope you don’t mind if I bootleg some of what you wrote.

  10. Howdy Jules, you’re absolutely welcome to my words–it’s your blog after all. Glad that my perspective seems to mesh with your experiences too. I don’t think too many people are aware of the regionalism within UUism, but as an ethnic Texan raised in Yankee territory, it’s a fact that I grew up with.

    Hope you have a good week!

Leave a Reply

