Dave asked me a question

A guy named Dave stopped by and said hello in response to my last post and he asked a question that got me to thinking.
[Deist pops the top on a cool, frosty one and settles in]
He asked “what’s it like being a Deist in your UU congregation?”

Just as a point of reference, for those who may not know about UU congregations, they’re governance is set up kinda like the Presbyterian (USA) congregations… completely independent. As such, they each have their own personality. Some are quite rooted in our Christian history and are just a click away from being a United Church of Christ congregation to some that are very Pagan in nature, holding special ceremonies at the solstices and being lay led.

My congregation is somewhere right in the middle of those two extremes. We’re currently lay led but occasionally have some “God talk” thrown into our sermons.

For me personally, our Sunday service hardly ever provides me with that sense of awe and call to act on my faith that I would like. But at the same time, i don’t feel like I’m missing out on that sense of awe. The onus is on me to see it and find it, not have the Sunday sermon give it to me. Besides prayer and worship is something very personal and when done in a rather charismatic… i don’t know… overly dramatic way… it seems… well, irreverent. fake.

And speaking of worship for that matter, I don’t believe The Divine wants to be worshipped for all the glorious things that He/She/It created. I don’t think The Divine wants or needs us to raise our hands and close our eyes and say “Oh, God you’re so great! I offer you praise and worship you!”

Are you kidding… He’s too cool for that. It’s like Fonzie saying, “hey tell me I’m cool.” He doesn’t need that… he already knows he’s cool. (ok, that may have been a bad analogy but you get my point)
[Deist takes a sip of beer and raises bottle to the air giving a little praise to the Big Guy for giving humans the inspiration to invent beer]

So what’s it like being a Deist in my congregation. Eh… could be better, could be worse but it’s not bad. As a Deist in a UU congregation, it gives me a chance for fellowship and an opportunity to serve my fellow man.

But just as a person of faith, with my Deist notions of God, well… when I put my mind in the right place and am receptive to The Divine… well, any day… any moment… isn’t bad being a Deist. And when I notice those moments… when i notice the miracle of this created Earth… The Divine smiles and thinks to Himself… “hey look at that… he thinks I’m cool.” [God smiles]
[Deist finishes his beer and puts it in the recycle bin]

One response to “Dave asked me a question

  1. Jules

    I think we’ve met – I gave a sermon at your church about covenant groups and small-group ministries, and you and I talked about Deism over lunch.

    For me personally, our Sunday service hardly ever provides me with that sense of awe and call to act on my faith that I would like. But at the same time, i don’t feel like I’m missing out on that sense of awe. The onus is on me to see it and find it, not have the Sunday sermon give it to me.

    There are other options in-between getting your sense of awe in the Sunday worship and doing it all by yourself. That’s why I asked about a circle of friends. By my lights, the best way to foster personal spiritual growth is in small groups – say 6 to 15 people that meet regularly.

    yUUrs in faith
    David

Leave a Reply

