soulmates…

I’ve always liked the idea of soulmates. I’ll admit it… i’ve bought into the idea. I like to believe there is someone out there who is absolutely perfect for me. I want to believe. I almost need to believe.Unfortunately there is nothing to base it on except my gut instinct… faith I guess you could call it and a myth invented by Plato… or at least attributed to him. I guess that’s not a bad thing considering the writer. I mean my man Plato was a pretty smart guy. But I was kinda hopin’ to find something to base this on in words that are considered by most a little more scriptural or canonical though (i.e. Quaran, The Bible, Torah, Vedic Scripture, etc).

But despite my half ass efforts towards a little internet research, I could find nothing that indicated that any of the Abrahamic religions speak to this nor do any of the eastern philosphies or the earth centered traditions.

New-ager types, neuvo-reincarnato/recycled souls apologetics and the like embrace the idea (groups whose ideas I tend to align myself with) but I haven’t been able to find any attribution to any of the older sacred texts that mention the concept of a twin flame or soul mate.

So why not just go with my gut. It keeps me alive. It tells me when I’m hungry. Gives me a flight or fight feeling. My gut’s given me the right intuition so far and kept me alive. And the idea of my twin flame being out there somewhere helps me to keep on, keepin on.

Alright, there we go. Soulmates… [check in the box under the yes column]

Peace y’all.

[Deist looks over his shoulder… thinks to himself “nope… haven’t found her yet. But she’s got to be around here somewhere.“]

7 responses to “soulmates…

  1. I never heard of a soulmate in Islam, either. Not in all the years I was Muslim, or in any of the many books I read. I think the idea in Islam is that you marry the person who has the best faith you can find, and make a life with them.

  2. Your gut is right. As for your research, you didn’t go far enough. For instance, Judaic tradition based on teachings of the Talmund suggests that there is one authentic soul mate meant for each soul, a “basherte”. Those who adhere to Judaic tradition believe that 40 days before a male child is conceived, a voice from the heavens announces the one to whom the child is meant to be betrothed; God is the ultimate matchmaker, and it’s the family’s responsibility to honor and help fulfill God’s plan.

    For thousands of years, couples in India have been betrothed through arrangement. The caste, status and financial dowry of the bride and groom are primary considerations in arranging a good match, one that will be blissful as well as regarded suitable to the families’ status. In consideration of a match, an Indie family will normally consult a priest/astrologer who compares the couple’s natal astrology charts. They evaluate the compatibility of the couple, looking for the planetary signs that point to a soul-mate connection. In India, synastry, the art of compatibility forecasting, is called jataka vicara or kundali milan and is a well-established marital custom that evaluates not only the complementary aspects of each personality but the destiny and karma of each soul. If the match is compatible, the planets and the astrological constellations will reveal enough similarities and complementary qualities to assure the couple’s parents that they’ve chosen wisely.
    Hope you find your soul mate soon and also that you buy a copy of my latest book, Divine Complement: The Spiritual Terrain of Soulmate Relationships. visit my site for the details and read review on Amazon.
    god bless you on your soul mate search.
    Ariadne Green

  3. Hi, Jules 🙂

    THIS is such an interesting topic. I love it and hate it at the same time. I LOVE it because it speaks to the” Romantic in me…that somewhere out there is THE Mr. Right – the perfect companion and compliment for me. It’s thrilling, really. And if I have one, everyone has has, right.

    And then there’s a part of me that say this is an abundant and VARIED universe. Sure, some animals – when they mate, mate for life. However, did they choose one mate inparticular out of the countless opportunties available to them, and then just stick with it? OR, would any number of the options have been good ones??

    Personally, I’m sticking with the TwinFlame idea….that even though I’ve been in several very important relationships, THE Mother of Relationships is definitely on my radar. I’m releasing all of the ‘hows’ to The Universe, and saying “thank you that I am now enjoying my perfect relationship”.

  4. (((Ariadne))) Thank you so much for the insight on basherte. very interesting concept when doing some follow up research.
    (((Grace))) Hi doll! The concept is sort of a love/hate relationship for me, too. I mean c’mon… 6.6 billion people in the world?…. gotta be at least a couple dozen people out there that would work for me. But then again… I’ve dated several dozen (a lot of them first/only dates) that didn’t work out sooooo whatya gonna do? I guess just keep on keepin’ on. big hugs to you, Jules

  5. Hi

    Well…isn’t it interesting and at the same time surprising to know that almost everyone in this universe has an unknown/known(if you are lucky 🙂 ) side of their personality which believes in what the materialistic world doesn’t show them explicitly…
    I feel that the idea of “soul mate” is such a concept and once you go deep into it, you would be able to invent a new side/view/part in you which you never thought existed.
    Needless to say, I do believe in this concept and the same has given me a lot of insight about me. 🙂
    Take care

    PS: I guess almost all the religion does talk about this…Keep searching…

  6. “And (one) of His signs is that He created for you, of yourselves, spouses so that you may console yourselves with them (and find rest and tranquility in them). He has set between you love and mercy”. [Qur’an 30:21]

    Am just a passer-by, and I thought I should leave the above verse. Thought it might help. 🙂

  7. Oh, I think Islam has soulmates…” O mankind! Be careful of your duty to your Lord Who created you from a single soul and from it created its mate and from them twain hath spread abroad a multitude of men and women.” (4:1) and also “And among His Signs is this, that He created for you mates from among yourselves that you may dwell in tranquillity with them, and He has put love and mercy between your hearts. Verily in that are Signs for those who reflect.” (30:21) It’s fascinating to me that the word zauj means not only a pair, a couple, but also each individual half of that couple. Thus the husband is zauj to the wife, the wife is zauj to the husband, and they are, together zaujan!

Leave a comment