gifts from The Divine

I’ve recently become fascinated with short films and animated shorts. I think this one is brilliant. It’s sad… poignant yet at the same time the viewer can’t help but feel (well, at least this viewer to feel) happy for that little kiwi at the same time.

But what is it inside of us that tells us what to pursue. What is it inside of us that makes us truly believe, “this is what I was born to do.”

The Divine perhaps?

Romans Chpt 12
4 Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, 5 so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. 6 We have different gifts, according to the grace given us.

I remember from the the 1984 movie Amadeus, Salieri says, “All I wanted was to sing to God. He gave me that longing… and then made me mute. Why? Tell me that. If He didn’t want me to praise him with music, why implant the desire? Like a lust in my body! And then deny me the talent?

I can’t help but think that part of our purpose for being on this rock for however long we are is to give love and be loved, to help when we can and receive help when we need it, to learn humility and feel pride but also to exercise the gift we’ve been given.

Sometimes discerning what that gift is can be a challenge though.

Fly on kiwi! Fly on!

Leave a Reply

