my best friend…


© jz, 1998

Several years ago i had a little dog. One of the best friends I’ve ever had. He was my running partner. He was a travel companion. He shared my fondness for good beer. And he was by my side during a very dark time in my life, just sitting next to me… no judgment, no encouragement, no pithy statements to get me through. Just sitting staring into the distance… silent.

But in his tenth year on this rock, he came down with something and he began to wither away. He couldn’t keep food down and he became weaker and weaker and took on the look of an emaciated captive. His little body became a cage keeping him confined to this world.

He was very weak and most days he couldn’t bring himself to really do anything but just lay curled up in himself on the ground. I resigned myself to the idea that I was continuing unnecessary suffering by not taking him to the vet so one Sunday decided I should release him from his cage.

It was so painful. It was so sorrowful to let him go I can’t even put into words.

I have a friend whose father is in a pretty bad way. It makes me wonder why we as a society can easily see the gift of releasing our four-legged companions when they are suffering but not for our family and friends.

Goodbyes are so painful… especially when you don’t want to say it. Especially when you want to stay together.

[Diest takes a sip of beer… pours a little in his buddy’s old dog dish and wipes a tear from his eye]

5 responses to “my best friend…

  1. Hi, Jules ((( Julian ))) I’m so sorry you lost your beloved pet!

    I’ve often wondered the same thing myself…why we feel it’s humane to put down a suffering animal we can’t help, but we’ll keep a suffering human alive as long as possible REGARDLESS of their quality of life or chances at normal functioning.

    I’m so sorry about your friend’s father. I pray that the end will come quickly and painlessly, that all would have an end to their suffering. Unless, of course, God’s has a miracle in mind 🙂 That would be awesome, too!

    Bighugsandkisses!

  2. thank you Grace. it’s wonderful to have a blessing come from such a beautiful soul like yourself. About my little dog, I let him go about four… God, when was it… five years ago…. something like that. This thing with my friend’s dad reminded me of it though. Makes me feel bad because I know they are all in pain not just his dad.

  3. I’m sorry to hear about your little dog. I just had to put down my longtime companion, my 17 year old cat. While I was relieved she was out of pain, it’s such an awful responsibility we have we these little creatures. But, we owe it to them to do the right thing for all they have given us throughout the years.

  4. Pingback: last minutes with Oden | a UU Deist in Texas

  5. Pingback: last minutes with Oden | a UU Deist in Texas

Leave a Reply

