In the throws of the new school year

Ahh yes.  The marching band has given its first half time show.  The football season is fresh and new.  Kids are reuniting with friends not seen during the summer.  The excitement of the year ahead stirs the senses.

And (in my best game show host voice) it’s time for school fundraising!  Tell ’em what we have this year Johnny!

I HATE THIS!  I HATE THAT WE AS A CULTURE HAVE STOOPED TO THIS LEVEL OF NOT PROVIDING ENOUGH FUNDING FOR THE EDUCATION OF OUR CHILDREN AND THAT WE MAKE THEM PEDDLE CRAP LIKE THIS!!!

Sorry for the all caps thing everyone.  It’s actually a pet peeve of mine but I’m really pissed off about this.

My brother and I are pretty close but I guess being in the throws of the new school year, he has a new job, I’ve been busy with stuff at work, church and the home life… well, we haven’t talked in about three or four weeks.

But i got a call from him yesterday evening (i didn’t have time to talk so I didn’t answer) then he calls me this morning.  So I answer even though I’m at work thinking this must be important.

“You know Brookie is in kindergarten this year and at her school they’re selling these things.  Can you buy one?”

A tub of cookie dough!

I am a bachelor.  I am the epitome of struggling bachelorhood.  When you go through a divorce, it can turn life into a struggle. Anyway, you come to my house and it’s just a couple of clicks above a college frat house.  The only thing I’m missing is the cinder block shelving and milk crates.

So as you might guess… I don’t bake.
So I tell him…  😐   [blink…. blink]

“gimmie one of the Snickerdoodle tubs.”

So I’m a softee for my niece.
Anyone want cookies?  I got some cold beer to go along with it.
[Deist thinks to himself, “Hmmm… maybe that’s the one thing beer doesn’t really go with.  meh, i’ll give it a try.]

2 responses to “In the throws of the new school year

  1. Isn’t it crazy in the world of BMI tests for school kids that we have them sell this stuff?

  2. I have a few thoughts.

    1. Great comment on my blog! Thanks! When I was writing it I was reminded of your magnetic happy one but didn’t think of the more serious organ donation post.

    2. I was so thankful to hear from my 7 year old that she didn’t want to be in Girl Scouts. I hate retail! I’m not good at retail. I really hate selling Girl Scout Cookies

    3. Amen to the struggle. Amen!

Leave a Reply

