only one marriage license

I ran across another blogger’s page about two weeks ago where he mentioned this concept (in a comment/reply to another) and I can’t remember who it was or what topic it was about or where i saw it but the idea has been stuck in my head.

I thought it was odd the way he kinda glazed over his statement that our nation should only allow people to receive one marriage license.

Being one who has gone through two marriage licenses already and still carries hope that I will need another one someday (third time’s a charm, right?), the idea has made me think, “what if I had only been allowed one marriage license?” Would my choices have been different? Would I have been more deliberate?… more intentional?… more serious. Would I have written off the idea of marriage and had two long term, live-in relationships. Would others do the same? Would I have the beautiful little soul who is my daughter in my life?

What if the government forced people to get married if they got pregnant? I mean they keep people from getting married (same sex marriages being denied) so why not force them also?

Seems like I’ve heard there are only a handful of species that mate for life and humans ain’t one of ’em. Are we trying to force a square peg in a round hole with this whole one mate for life idea?  Are we tryin to make a kiwi fly when we know it can’t.

I don’t know… I like to think it’s a round peg and round hole. And like that little kiwi, it takes a lot of hard work and effort to fly but it can be done.

Happy Friday y’all.

Jules.

2 responses to “only one marriage license

  1. In Arkansas we have something called the Covenant Marriage which is an odd and disturbing thing. Basically, they make it hard to get out of one marriage and into another. It is a ONE TIME ONLY certificate… lovely.

  2. If we are going to allow only one marriage license (and I agree with you that most likely 3 is a charm but I’ll be happy with just one more and let those of you with 3 under your belts be blissfully happy) then we at least need a few loopholes?

    So say we find out that our spouse is sleeping with someone else, can we get a “hit them with your car” free pass.

Leave a Reply

