on dreams and lost love (part 2)

Several months ago I saw a story about ABC news reporter Bob Woodruff.

He was the reporter who, along with his camera man, Bob Vogt, was severely injured by a roadside bomb in Iraq. He lay in a coma for a little more than a month. And as doctors and nurses worked to bring him back from his sleep, his wife of 17 years sat by his side holding out hope.

In an interview Bob gave to Larry King he said that when he came out of the coma the first thing he said to his wife, Lee was, “Honey, where’ve you been?” He said it as if she had been gone or left and he had been looking for her.

After hearing the interview and how his wife stood vigil over his bed, I wept. Day after day she would be by his side. She would talk to him, touch his face, tell him stories and hoped that somewhere in there her husband could hear her.

The recent dreams I’ve had of MyLove made think about the ordeal Bob and Lee went through and me and the surreal event of MyLove having left five years ago and being gone. I say surreal because it happened so fast… just within a month. Surreal because it just doesn’t seem like it could possibly happen to us.
My over active imagination had me confess to Lillet, my big sister, “What if I’m in a coma? What if I’m asleep? I mean things have happened to me that I would have never guessed or dreamed would happen to me. In a relatively short time frame, I’ve learned how to make music, I have traveled, I have become religious. Me!… religious. I have dated a Miss Texas contestant, my brother is a convicted felon and I do not have MyLove by my side.”

I continued saying, ” … am I in a coma? Is she holding vigil by my bed and are my dreams of her instances of where she’s almost getting through to me. Are my dreams her talking to me and telling me stories and touching my face. Am I in a Matrix-esque sort of virtual world right now?”

Somebody please wake me…. please wake me.

6 responses to “on dreams and lost love (part 2)

  1. Heartbreaking… I don’t think you are in a coma, but your love is no less real. Beautifully written.

  2. *gently* You’re awake now.

    Maybe you should contact her, or at least try. Sometimes feelings are just feelings, but sometimes… there’s a reason.

  3. Thank you Jackie for stopping by and saying hello. thinkin about you.

    Amuirin… what can i say. thank you, thank you, thank you. Your first sentence was amazing. It made me smile. I could imagine gentle little nudges on my arm. Very sweet thank you. I think it can be difficult to respond to deeply personal posts like this and yours was right on time… in just the right way. I think you’re right… sometimes feelings are just feelings. A dream is nothing more than just a dream… no interpretation to it, just the brain trying to recoop. But other times…. hmmm. I’ll think about it. Maybe I will. I don’t know. Maybe I’m afraid of what I’ll hear.

  4. Pingback: brains in vats and tiny universes « A UU Deist in Texas

  5. Jules- I’m glad you took it just that way. 🙂

    And I know what you mean… the afraid of what you’ll hear part. I’ve been there. The italians have a way of saying that, they say, ‘L’ho provato sulla mia pelle.’ or ‘I have experienced that on my own skin.’

    It sounds prettier in Italian, though.

  6. Pingback: … a sorrow divided « A UU Deist in Texas

Leave a Reply

