It’s officially Autumn for me

I received a voice message last night from a high school friend of mine who I haven’t seen in probably 10 years. Her message said, “Jules… it’s me Lisa T… remember from high school. God, I hate this. I wish I could see you in person to tell you this. I’ve got some bad news. Please give me a call.”

I felt like I was in the front car of the old Texas Cyclone and my stomach was in my throat. My first thought was our friend Dena had died. She’s struggled with obesity her whole life and well… it just isn’t healthy for her, so I naturally assumed. Although I don’t talk to them, there is some sort of comfort in believing a part of my past… these people who were at one time very good friends of mine and who hold fond memories for me, are still on this earth looking at the same sky I am.

When I called her back, the news was about Dena. However, it wasn’t about her death but her brother’s.

He was on an upswing in his life after fighting off the demons of drugs and alcohol… bad choices and prison. He died in a construction accident yesterday about 2:30pm.  This is the sad part of his death.  By the time he finally was able to get himself on a prosperous track, his time was up and he was called back home.

I’m three quarters of the way through my life… in the Autumnal phase. I suspect I am now at a time in my life where I will receive calls like this on a more frequent basis.

Rest in Peace, Russell.

2 responses to “It’s officially Autumn for me

  1. It is terribly sad when someone turns their life around and then is suddenly called back through death. I’ve known a number of people who have spent a third of their lives making bad choices then they make the adjustments and turn themselves around then they die. Always sudden, tragic, unexpected deaths. I don’t know why that happens or why we think that any sadder than someone who hasn’t changed their life around or someone who never had to change it around because they always made the right choices. But we do.

    I’ve reached a later part in my life, too. I hesitate to read the newspaper for fear I will find the names of more of my contemporaries in the obits.

    Here’s to a reflective Autumn!

  2. You don’t look like you could be past your summer.

Leave a Reply

