but God will take care of it…

I met one of my neighbors today. Very friendly lady. Actually I guess I didn’t meet her as much as just talk to her for the first time. We were grabbing the mail just before heading to work.

Small talk, small talk, small talk and then she drops her keys trying to close the little door. She says, “oh, i can barely do this I’m so nervous. My daughter is at Texas Woman’s right now in labor.”

“Is that right?! Well, that’s great news. Congratulations on the new grandbaby.”

“Thank you… a little boy.   [slight pause] She’s having complications but God will take of it.”

“I’m sure God will.”

I thought about that exchange the whole way in to work. What makes her so sure… so positive God will take care of it. I mean she said it in a way that was so matter of fact, with such assuredness. She also said it in a way that suggested no harm would come to her daughter or the baby.

Why? How? How did she know with such certainty that God would allow her daughter and grandson to live when so many other mothers and babies don’t make it. Why would God pick her family to not feel loss?

Why did I answer the way that I did…

[Diest bows his head on his desk and says a little prayer for safety. whispers… “amen and blessed be.”]

8 responses to “but God will take care of it…

  1. Why did I answer the way that I did…

    That is my question. Why do we do that? Why do we choose to talk in the same symbolic language of others? Is it to make them comfortable? Is it because we don’t want to cause any stir in our lack of symbolic language?

    It is a curious thing to me.

    Thanks for stopping by Jackie… Jacquie? Jackee? Jackey?…. Moxie! On choosing to talk in the same symbolic language of others. I told my daughter once (referencing a good friend of ours who is a fundamentalist Baptist) that there are a lot of people out there who simply can’t handle the idea of a different view of God than the one they know. It’s just easier for us to speak in a language they understand and keep the meaning of it in our hearts. Hope all is well for you up in the Ozarks. Up… (hee hee) i guess if I lived in Missouri or Ohio it would be down in the Ozarks, right. I don’t why that struck me as funny.

  2. Why did I answer the way that I did…

    I don’t know the answer for you, but when I do that, I think it comes out of an impulse to please others, and to avoid conflict.

    Hi Hafidha. I think perhaps that’s what it was for me. I’m by nature not really a confrontational kind of person and so I think by impulse I chose not to start any conflict, especially when I could visibly see (her dropping her keys) that she was nervous about something.

  3. But why do we assume that when she says “God will take care of it” that she thinks God will do so with a positive outcome? I think the answer you gave was instinct and kindness. A statement like hers makes me think she may know, too, that however things work out, God will take care of it–good or bad. It’s her faith–no matter the outcome, God will take care of it. For her, I’m sure God will.

    I’ll bow my head, as well for the baby and mother in Texas.

  4. Doh. Just reread your post. Nevermind … you say she was sure. I missed that. Still …

  5. Nope… you read it right the first time. (i just edited it to make it a little more clear.) It was me saying “I’m sure God will.”

    Because of my Deist outlook on life I don’t necessarily view The Divine as playing an active role in what happens here… well, maybe sometimes *grin* Who knows for sure.

    Anyway, I think the outcomes of many, if not all events perhaps, have a positive outcome, if we can see them that way.

    In other words… what we view as a negative outcome could perhaps be a positive in the grand scheme of things.

    It’s difficult to wrap my head around that idea though especially when you think about really egregious acts against humanity. Kind of like the “everyone has human worth” conundrum, when we’re challenged with that idea on people like Hitler, Idi Amen, Rev. Jim Jones, etc.

  6. We’re supposed to have faith, right?

    That’s a strange situation. I always wonder if that kind of blind faith has something to do with ignorance, which is awful, I’m sure. But anyone who can be so sure everything will turn out okay… I donno. Has it always? What if it didn’t? Would their faith hold?

    Faith is weird. I want to have it, but the unquestioning aspect is something that I question,, over and over again.

  7. When my 7 year old was 2 I had a traumatic miscarriage. I walked around knowing I was carrying a dead baby inside of me and hoping that it would, as my doctor advised “take care of itself naturally”. It didn’t and I needed to have a procedure done to take care of it to prevent me the pain and possible hemorrhage that they were concerned about. During this time my husband at the time was absolutely no support and this was the beginning of the end of my marriage. At the time there were so few things that I could see as positive in the experience and I was angry with people who told me, “it was meant to be”. Now in looking back and seeing where I am now I realize that it was meant to be. It really is all about perspective.

  8. You know Amuirin… I don’t know. It IS a strange situation.

    I talked to a friend of mine once about this after he “found Jesus” and became born again after having been agnostic almost his whole life. I said, “man that’s great Rich that you’re stepping on to your spiritual path…” and continued to tell him, “but it’s important to test and challenge your faith because simple, blind faith can be dangerous. Plus there will most likely come a time when you have a crisis of faith and in questioning your beliefs, your faith in them can actually be strengthened.”

    He said, “that’s ridiculous. if you have the Holy Spirit in you your faith is never weakened.”

    i said, “even Jesus had a crisis of faith if not for just a moment… ‘father why have you foresaken me.’ wouldn’t you call that a crisis of faith?”

    He sat silent for a second or two and said, “you just don’t get it because you don’t have the Holy Spirit?”

    I’m kinda jealous of him. Like you i want to have faith but i keep questioning.

Leave a Reply

