The day after the party (part 1 of 3)

I didn’t do much for New Year’s Eve. My friend Tom used to call it… amateur hour. I didn’t feel like getting out into the fray with all the crazies this year… actually only two or three times have I done New Year’s Eve the way many people do with a huge party, loads of drinking and revelry.

I’ve never really been one to do or say resolutions for the new year either. But this year, I’m breaking with my usual and have very high hopes for a few changes.

About three months ago I was the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life. I’ve never had a weight problem. Actually that’s a bit of a lie. When I was younger (like 20-25 years younger) I was extremely skinny… puny is more of the word. Now the weight problem is the opposite… too heavy. Heavy to the point where I think it may be causing some problems health wise…. actually I’m quite certain of it.

And so i have high hopes to change that about myself. Mostly for aesthetics, certainly for my health and so my daughter can have her daddy around as long as possible as well.

I’ve been brooding over a post one of my blogging peeps posted a while back about self negation. It really resonated with me and I have been contemplating it since I read it. Thanks Shelby.

“Why self-care? Appropriate self-care nurtures our sense of safety and comfort, replenishes our energy for taking on life’s challenges, and gives us more good feeling to invest in our relationships with family, friends, fellow congregants, and the larger world. Our bodies and souls are blessings. And they are our best tools for serving one another and the sacred. Let’s take good care of them.”

I’m already working on it and have been even before her post three weeks ago. I started about two months ago and have dropped from 170 pounds to 163… 33% body fat to 31. Not huge progress but progress nonetheless. The weight I carry may not seem like much but on a five foot three frame… it isn’t a pretty site. I hope to get down to 150… 145 would be ideal.

And so for spiritual and health reasons, I have high hopes to take care of this shell my spirit occupies… (to quote a song written by Phil Vassar and recorded by Tim McGraw)
“i’m gonna watch my weight. eat a few more salads and not stay up so late. Drink a little lemonade and not so many beers. Maybe I’ll remember in my next 30 years.”

Happy New Year, y’all !!!

Peace, Salam Alaikum, Namasté, Blessed Be

6 responses to “The day after the party (part 1 of 3)

  1. 🙂 7 pounds is alot, and you should feel very proud of yourself!! I’m working on a few things myself – for health reasons. One of the things about getting older is…well…getting older! lolol Happy New Year!

  2. I think that we can always be healthy. I want to shape up myself but unlike in the past I’m not pressuring myself to do it, nor am I doing it for anyone else. Big hugs and happy new year!!!

  3. Jules, It is wonderful to hear that in just two months, you have already made so much progress to your weight loss goal. Congratulations on that progress and on the hard work you are putting into living healthy!

  4. Pingback: Friday Vibes: Oh Eight Week One | The Pageless Book

  5. Pingback: falling of the wagon « a UU Deist in Texas

  6. Pingback: half way through « a UU Deist in Texas

Leave a Reply

