spirituality of a clean house

A few nights ago I had a couple of friends over. So in trying to keep one of my New Year’s wishes, they were coming over so we could revel in playing a little music together.

The place was lookin’ pretty bad. It seems as though my time is so carved up that I barely have enough to keep the place even presentable. But in about an hour and a half’s time, I was able to bring it to a pretty decent state.

Amazing, just an hour and a half. And I was a cleanin fool, too. Dishes cleaned, laundry going, counter tops scrubbed, fridge wiped, restroom sparkly…. I even boiled water and dumped it in the rug shampooer and hit the living room.

So in the morning, except for a few empty Fat Tire and Brown Ale bottles, the place looked nice and it felt…

well…

It felt good.

I felt really good waking up in my house that day.

There was no clutter, no dirty dishes, no junk laying around that I’ll get to later. (bonus: the cat hadn’t puked on anything either.)

Been clearing out my head, too. Of course, I’ve got the regular worries and things that furrow my brow… this bill is due soon, the daughter is growing up so fast, ugh… gotta talk to that client tomorrow, etc.

I don’t think it can be done in an hour and a half, but I’m trying to clean some stuff out in the ol’ noggin… get rid of the useless clutter. Perhaps we all have a little clutter we can toss away.

The meditation thing isn’t as consistent as I’d like or my praying or the yoga but it’s getting there. I think the de-clutterification is a baby step towards a clear mind. I’m looking forward to LB showing me the secret handshake, too. : )

9 responses to “spirituality of a clean house

  1. I love waking up to a clean house. I love coming home to a clean house after a day at work. Reality though is that I have a small place with two girls. There is a certain level of clutter that I need to accept for the time being. I do believe though that a clean house reflects a clean mind. My thoughts have been pretty muddled lately. I’ll have to clean my house and my mind this weekend.

  2. Oh, I’m with you. I haven’t made the time to clean house like I’d like to, but I sat down with the check book and entered all the ATM and debit withdrawals, etc. I hadn’t done that in a month. I feel spiritually cleansed (if not poor, but that’s a whole ‘nother story). Enjoy!

  3. Go go go! I know that after we decluttered (an actual continual project) big time I felt free. It was an amazing feeling. It did make it hard for family to give me gifts at Christmas because they were afraid I would say thanks and then toss it out. We only did that a little 🙂

  4. You would probably enjoy “Clear Your Clutter With Feng Shui” by Karen Kingston (warning, one section is on clearing the clutter from your colon …) The rest of the book is about the spiritual aspect of decluttering. Pretty cool.

  5. B-mom… only after we see Cloverfield this weekend. Priorities young lady… priorities. : )

    uuMomma… hmmm, cleaning out the checkbook. i’m feelin ya. i might have to look into somethin like that. Maybe when I get some money but I can see how it could have the same effect.

    Moxie! good to see you back. I remember a post you had about decluttering. does feel good doesn’t it.

    LE… thanks for the book recommendation. A friend of mine gave me a Feng Shui book a little while back but it kinda got lost in the clutter of my room. [insert snare slaps and cymbal crash here… canned laugh track plays] : )

    ok, so a guilty pleasure I have is late night sit com reruns. So I’ve been watching the King of Queens lately and your warning about that one section in the book reminded me of an episode where Doug takes his wife Carey to a holistic health spa and while reading the pamphlet he says, “and look after all that you can finish it off with a little colon (then he says it like this) ear-ruh-gay-SHEE-Ohn.”

    ok, i’m a dork.

  6. Pingback: Cleaning up « uuMomma

  7. As much as I hate to admit my boyfriend and all my nagging friends are right, but a clean house does feel damn fine, and a bit more condusive to engaging in acts that clean up the mind. For me, when the place is a mess, there is always that excuse not meditate as I think I should be cleaning, but because I hate cleaning, I just end up puttering. So, to avoid the “house is a mess, I can’t meditate” excuse, I have found a small corner in the house that serves as my meditation space. It’s small, compact, faces outside, easy to clean and hard to clutter.

    You’re gonna get that secret handshake one of these days, I just know it. 🙂

  8. I’m not going to be able to see Cloverfield this weekend and I’m all pouty about it. Between the prolific amounts of vomit that I’ve had to deal with over the past 24 hours, a little girl who isn’t quite well yet, the dangerously cold temperatures that make going too far from home a bit risky and the fact that the Packers play I’ve got my calendar booked.

  9. There’s a lot to be said for the spirituality of cleaning the house and then reveling in a clean house. If you can be present to the actual cleaning and not let your mind just take off all over, it’s like any other sort of practice (writing, walking, sitting). In fact, I’ve got to clean today, so I’m glad I came across this post in time to remind me not to hate the chore so much.

Leave a Reply

