one book meme

ugh…. i’ve been sitting on this meme for so long… sorry John. The Pageless Book (see list of blog peeps to the right) sent this to me almost a month ago. I’m embarrassed to say I’m not much of a reader so I had to push the memory cells into overdrive to try and remember any books I’ve read. That’s kinda why this took so long.

And sooo… here we go.

One book that changed my life.
Arban’s Complete Conservatory Method for Trumpet

It’s the book i used when I first started learning how to play music. It gave a really good foundation as I transitioned into high school and college with music.

I haven’t thought about it in forever.

One book that I’ve read more than once.
hmmm… i can’t think of one I’ve read twice. Although, I’ve been wanting to go back to a book I read a while back called Journey of Souls: Case Studies of Life Between Lives. Extremely interesting book that (although having a Deist perspective as well as UU) validates the Buddhist side of me that believes in reincarnation.

One book that made me laugh.
You got me on this one. But if I remember right, it seems like Dr Stephen Hawking’s book The Universe in a Nutshell had a few funny extracts or was it The Theory of Everything. Anyway, what made parts of it funny was to think if this intellectual giant as saying something comical… on purpose… to be funny. It was funny to me, that the Lucasian Chair of Mathematics at Cambridge could actually BE funny. I don’t know… maybe the book was actually something from Seinfeld. I can’t remember. I think i need coffee.

One book that made me cry.
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Mitch Albom
I read this book shortly after my wife left and it was comforting in way that led me to believe i might see her again.

One book that I wish had been written.
My Time in the Far East: the missing years
by Jesus of Nazareth

It is perplexing to me that we have nothing from “the missing years.” It would be nice to know what he did. Any girlfriends? Did he play sports? Did he keep a journal (ah, the first blogger). Favorite foods. Did he ever secretly want to kick his brother in the shin.

One book that I wish had never been written.
Like I said I don’t really read much so I can’t really give a good answer to this one.

One book I’m currently reading.
The Lost Gospel of Judas Iscariot: A New Look at Betrayer and Betrayed
Bart D. Ehrman

Very interesting and surprisingly so far (only at chapter 2) a relatively easy read.

One book I’ve been meaning to read.
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal
A friend of mine gave this to me last year (almost to the day) for my birthday and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. I cracked it open when I first got it and it seems pretty funny but alas, it’s been pushed back to other endeavors.

Ok, there you go.
The only person I’m going to tag is my friend B-mom.
I wonder if she’s received this one before. She’s a self-proclaimed bibliophile and has placed a goal of 50 books to read this year. I’d be lucky to read 50 pages this year.

Anyway, I’m interested to know how someone who is so well read would answer the above questions.

One response to “one book meme

  1. Pingback: One Book « Bookish Misadventures of Bibliomom

Leave a Reply

