Cloverfield: more than just a monster movie

Finally got a chance to see Cloverfield. And against Amuirin‘s advice to not take Little Fawn (my 13 year old daughter) I did anyway.

I told Little Fawn I didn’t think I should take her because I thought it might be too scary. She convinced me that she wouldn’t have nightmares and that she’s seen movies that are scary when she was “much younger.”

“ugh, daddeeee… [slight pause] I saw Sleepy Hallow when I was 11 daddy,” she said with indignation in her voice. (so much younger right. : )

“And I’ve seen all three of the Lord of the Rings movies and there’s all kinds of scary stuff in them [pause]

“… and i saw them with you!”

: | blink… blink…

So we went.

Little Fawn is taking a drama class in school and has picked up (even prior to being in the class) a strong interest and fascination with movies… more than just the average viewer. She seems to study them, remembers the dialogue of the scripts and looks for hidden things. She really likes M. Night Shamaylan movies, especially The Village and Signs. She got a big kick out of the fact that he inserted himself into the movies with a cameo as well. But she likes that there is underlying meaning to his movies and she loves to revisit them.

~~~

I read a review of Cloverfield before taking her and as the movie started, I began talking to her and telling her to be on the lookout for what the movie was really about. The same way that Signs is not about aliens and crop circles this movie is going to be about something more than a monster eating New York City.

Eighty-four minutes of CGI destruction, disorienting “i video-ed this with my cell phone”, blood and screams later we begin walking out of the theater. Little Fawn and I have a familiar exercise that we’ve done with other movies where I ask what she thinks about it.

As we run through the exercise, she thinks about it really hard but doesn’t know what to say. So to prod her a little I ask, “how did you feel when they showed the people running into the electronics store and stealing stuff… including the main character. He was stealing, too, right.”

“Well, yeah, but he was stealing a cell phone battery so he could talk to his girlfriend and try to find her. The others were just stealing stuff so they could sell it on ebay or something.”

[Deist daddy looks down for effect as if soaking in her answer]

“Hmmm… ok.

[pause… now looking into her eyes]

“So what do you think the movie is about now when you think about that?”

“Ihhht’ss… about the important things like friends and family?”

“Exactly! It’s about going through something really stressful, really hard, going through something so bad you think you might not even make it through alive. It’s about how the audience reacts when they think about being in a really stressful situation. And it tries to show that being with friends and family… the people you love… through situations that are life and death important is what really matters.”

As we left and looked for our truck, we were behind an older couple and could hear them and their take on the movie.

“I don’t think I liked that movie, hon. I’m dizzy.”

“We’ve should seen that Bucket List movie. That was dumb… a monster eating New York.”

Little Fawn whispers to me, “they just don’t get it huh, daddy.”

God I love my daughter. Absolutely love her.

add to del.icio.us ::add to furl ::Digg it ::add to ma.gnolia ::Stumble It! ::add to simpy :: :: ::TailRank

8 responses to “Cloverfield: more than just a monster movie

  1. I’m not reading this because I haven’t seen it yet. My house has been over run with sickness and I haven’t had a hour or two to myself to go and see the movie. Maybe next week.

  2. Pingback: Cloverfield » Cloverfield: more than just a monster movie

  3. I don’t think I could take my daughter… but I am a wimp!

  4. Very nice, the way you looked out for her through this, Jules. And I liked the parental fence-sitting — do I let her see this, or not?

  5. Well if she’s seen signs. I suppose I’m overprotective and a bit of a scaredy cat myself. I was a little shaken from the ongoing suspense by the end.

    What did you think of the camera guy? I thought he was funny. Seemed dorky at first, but I liked him more and more, and you could tell that that camera became important to him. LIke his lifeline… it gave him purpose and he needed it, in a way.

  6. *That* is cool. I love how your daughter got it… She’s a smart one.

    Thanks for the smile today.
    Namaste.

  7. That’s so cool. But, um, at the risk of sounding like the old couple, did you really not get dizzy with the handheld? Because I don’t like getting dizzy in movies.

  8. Hey ybonesy… nope, didn’t really get dizzy or headachey or anything. One effect the Blair Witch-esque shooting did to me though was make me feel like I was really there. My stomach was in knots.

Leave a Reply

