Super Tuesday and DMB

Some of you who have read my blog before have seen that I’ve referenced Dave Matthews Band a few times.

I’ve been a fan of his band’s music since his “Under the Table and Dreaming” album came out in 1994. Dave’s lyrics are at times simplistic, spiritual, common, unusual, erotic, political or silly. He’s surrounded himself with amazing musicians, specifically bass phenom and prodigy Stephan Lessard and drummer extraordinaire Carter Beuford; which, in doing so, allows the music to be extremely complex.

He has helped with issues regarding the environment, his opinions of religion are similar to that of UUs, and he’s just flat out cool.

But I saw this earlier this morning and it made me like him more.

Dear Friends,

I hope this finds you well.
A question, a reflection, and an endorsement.

Why is our country divided? Why has this division been growing?

Can we not all agree that we are a country that supports its families, that protects its citizens and respects its neighbors? A country that educates its children? Are we not a country that can lead by example rather than by force?
Is ours a government of the people, by the people, for the people?

I would like to think so.

But I believe that corporate greed and its involvement in policy making, along with political cronyism have made it nearly impossible for the people to govern. So we fight amongst ourselves over the spin of political slogans and half truths.
And so we are divided.

It is time for a change and that is why I support Barack Obama for President.

Respectfully,
Dave Matthews

My first choice would be Dr. Ron Paul (with Dennis Kucinich as a running mate) but I don’t think he’s got a snowball’s chance. He’s got a small number of rabid supporters and lots of money but I just don’t think that will be enough to get the nod.

Mr Obama’s message of Yes We Can pulls at the heart strings of many Americans and I think that is what ultimately leads many to pull the lever for their guy (or their gal as we see this year with Hillary)… their heart. For even the informed voter… one who does research on the candidates, their views, character and whatever else is important to them… I think ultimately it’s your heart telling you this is the one. That’s why I’ll be voting for Mr Obama. I think he can.

add to del.icio.us ::add to furl ::Digg it ::add to ma.gnolia ::Stumble It! ::add to simpy :: :: ::TailRank

One response to “Super Tuesday and DMB

  1. Hm..

    I just don’t know, really, what I want.

    I wish Jon Stewart was running.

Leave a Reply

