an update on The Amazon

I’ve been meaning to post something about this for a little while since Jo and LB said they wanted details on what happens as I dive into the fray of the dating pool.

About a week ago (the day before Valentine’s Day) Good Morning America did a report on eHarmony. Here’s how the story intros:

eHarmony has about 19 million single members looking for love, and a national Harris poll found eHarmony’s site is responsible for about 44,000 weddings a year and more than 100,000 babies born so far from the site’s cybermatchmaking.

Pretty wild, huh! No Jo, I don’t hear wedding bells. 🙂

What I’ve found as I float here in the pool with my floaties fastly secured to my arms is eHarmony has a pretty long process of hoops to jump through before a couple actually starts communicating on their own. Before getting “introduced” to The Amazon, I actually got matched with a few gals who I went through this process with. Seems like it’s rather easy for an “introduced” couple to jump ship and say “nope, this isn’t going to work.” I actually have made it to the open communication three times before where we didn’t communicate after that. So even once you’ve made it there it doesn’t necessarily mean a date is coming.

With that in mind, I’m surprised… I mean really surprised at the 44,000 weddings a year stat. I mean I’ve even been on a couple of dates through the hook-up of eHarmony, after making it through the arduous intro process but those gals just turned out not to be a good fit.

Well despite my Nebraska Amazon being 5’10” and me at a rather un-average 5’3″, we made it through all the hoops and are still communicating via e-mail. It’s sporadic but there nonetheless.

So there you have it Jo… LazyBuddhist. Sometimes The Universe says, “hmmm… let’s see what happens when you mix these two things together. An unlikely lot, but it looks like it could be interesting.”

We’ll see what happens.

8 responses to “an update on The Amazon

  1. Tee hee hee……sounds very promising, the stats, the connection. I don’t know, I think words can often be better than facesucking on first dates….slowly, slowly catchy monkey (or whatever that saying is) 🙂

    Thanks for the update!!!!

  2. I’m 5’3 and 3/4ths.

    *blinks*

    Wasn’t that a nice, helpful comment?

  3. Pingback: Oscar Contest; I totally almost forgot « stop & wander

  4. Thank you for the update. I’ve always wondered how e-Harmony functioned. You’ll find someone who recognizes that the bigness of the heart has nothing to do with physical stature. Have fun with your quest . . . and yes, continue to keep us updated. 🙂

  5. Back in The Pool. . . . . I couldn’t even imagine. Good luck, friend.

    Re. the difficulty with eHarmony, I couldn’t imagine me ever answering the questions the same way twice. Not that I’d consciously be dishonest, it’s just that it would be tough to expose myself that way.

    Will

  6. I rather enjoyed the matchmaker.com process. Writing and filling out the profile, doing the questionnaire, running the program to find women who answered similar to me, swapping emails with them. I liked just flipping though and reading their profiles and seeing what they said.

    Plus, I met Mrs. Ombud that way. She’s why I’m not enjoying it any more. *smile*

  7. I’ve been meaning to answer back to Will and Ombud on this thread for a while. Sorry guys.

    Man, you know Will… being back in the pool has been rough. A little nerve racking. And I wonder how much I would change the answers to the personality questionnaire in the short time I’ve done it… it’s actually been about six months or so. But you know, people grow and opinions change.

    Ombud! So the success stories are actually true. That’s cool about you and Mrs. Ombud. And reading through the profiles is a fun exercise in finding out I’m not SO unique or quirky after all and that there are other people out there similar to me.

    Actually, I’m quite surprised I’ve found that sameness as well in some of the blog peeps I have on my blogroll.

    Huh… could it be I’m actually quite normal. Meh… maybe being unique and quirky is overrated.

Leave a Reply

