a day in the life of the UU Deist in Texas

ok, so this isn’t a typical day in my life… it’s more like an atypical Saturday. And what did i do? I spent an afternoon with a few of the ladies in my life. I had the daughter this weekend and we hung out with my mom, my baby sister and my niece. After going out for breakfast, we couldn’t figure out what to do but my mom suggested going to Trader’s Village.

It’s this place in the northwest part of Houston that takes up, I don’t know… maybe 200 acres including the parking lot. It’s like a super-humongo, ginormous garage sale. My mom considers herself the queen of garage sales and so…to her domain we went.

It’s actually a pretty cool place for people watching and you can find some pretty cool, weird, obscure stuff there… and CHEAP!

I wish I had thought to pull out my camera earlier than I did. Then I could have caught a pic of the vendor selling an assortment of hard to find tools that every guy must have. You know like that two foot long springy thing with the magnet on the end for retrieving bolts that fall in a tight spot in the engine. Not that I’ve ever done that 😀 I could have gotten a pic of a wagon wheel coffee table like the one in When Harry met Sally and a frame with cowhide wrapping around it. The odd thing is the cowhide still has the fur on it. Do cows have fur or is it hair?

There are all kinds of pets being sold at the ol’ Trader’s Village. A ton of birds… cockateils, finches, wrens, canaries. A bunch of dogs of varying breeds. The schnoodle was a rare breed on hand. Funny how they glamorize mutts with cool names like schnoodle and peekapoo. There are turtles, snakes, rabbits. Of course the little bunnies were 25 dollars and the bigger ones 10. I guess bigger ones aren’t in quite as high demand.

Several vendors sell incense and my sis just had to get some. When we got back to her house she lit some but then decided it was giving her a headache and put it out.

There are sunglasses galore. Only five bucks. Hopefully I don’t burn out my retinas with the pair i bought. This was just one of probably six or so stands around Trader’s Village. That’s mom and sis checking out the lot.

Here’s another pic of mom stylin with her new shades. She’s lookin pretty cool and hip right. : )

Even my niece wanted a pair. This is a better pic of sis.

But how can you beat this little gem? A must have for the emo-listening, thick black eye liner wearing, shoe-gazing, black-clothes donning, self cutting teen on your gift list.

Here’s my kiddo posing with a very un-cheesy skull wrist band which doubles as a watch. It has a hinge at the right ear which allows the skull to flip over and reveal the exquisite timepiece. She wanted it to look like the skull was her head but it didn’t quite work.

Just let me know blog peeps… i’ll take your orders for one if you like.

And so the great Trader’s Village adventure ended. Everyone leaving with a little useless junk in hand. I really wish i would have bought that magnet tool thingy though.

Damn.

5 responses to “a day in the life of the UU Deist in Texas

  1. Sounds lotsa fun. I’ve not been shopping for ages, I need to get going.

  2. I have to avoid places like that. We have one out here on the runways of the former naval air station. I run the risk of coming home with antique beer trays or old style glasses or neon signs with cartoon animals and nature scenes where, if you plug them in, it looks water is really cascading down the rapids.

  3. Hey Jo… yeah, we had a pretty good time but you do have to use some self restraint.

    Ombud, the more I read you and get to know you, the more I think we’re kindred spirits. I SO wanted to walk away with a handful of antique beer trays. The air brushed t-shirt sporting a custom Martin the martian with gangsta style lettering was a big temptation also.

  4. I love Martin the Martian.

    I love Bugs more, but on his own spheroid, Martin rules.

    If I found myself with a wallet full of cash at a flea market with lots of Hamm’s beer neon signs and Martin the Martian memorabilia and Pogo comics and Bugs Bunny … anything … I could end up …
    divorced.

  5. Oh what fun! Except for the flea market that OmsbudBen referred to above, there aren’t that many good flea markets around anymore. And unfortunately, the Alameda flea, oops, I mean, Vintage Faire, is filled with dealers who know the value of their collectibles. I used to love the flea markets, like the one in Marin, that was a combination of antiques and collectibles dealers, a few choice vendors and artisans, and people throwing out a blanket and selling their old shit for cheap. That’s where you found the true values.

    Anyway, sounds like a great way to spend a day.

Leave a Reply

