Happy Birthday to me !!!!

Well, look at me, the Deist in Texas blog is a whole year old. I can hardly believe it. I mean, this is actually my third attempt at blogging and i wasn’t really sure if I’d keep at it. I guess what they say is true…. third time’s a charm. Not sure what changed with this one but I think I finally got my head around the idea of just writing whatever was in my head…. whatever weird little ideas were floating around in there.

I can’t help but think part of the “sticking” process was starting this one on WordPress. I loves me my wordpress. I like the stats it gives and the little extras, although i hate the new design of the dashboard.

Anyway, I thought it would be kinda interesting to look at the stats:

Blog Stats
Total views: 8,815 (i never thought anyone would see my posts)
Busiest day: 94 — Thursday, January 24, 2008 (haven’t broken the century mark)

Totals
Posts: 131 (i apparently don’t write that often)
Comments: 474 (but people respond : )
Categories: 194
Tags: 47

Spam
Akismet has protected your site from 2,889 spam comments.

This is kind of a cool stat. Most viewed posts.

beliefs of a Deist 1,305 (five times more than the second most viewed post)
Photos – sunflowers 239
soulmates… 232
about me 207
Photos – a magnolia blossom 195

So I’ve never really been a birthday kinda guy. I remember a few birthday celebrations as a kid… meh.

Then their was my 21st birthday… my girlfriend at the time took me to dinner insisting that i should have my first legal drink. I was sick as a dog with a horrible head cold and sinus infection. The drink wasn’t that much fun.

One of my most memorable birthday parties was when I was in boot camp. I turned 26. Yes… i was kinda old for bootcamp. The drill instructor on duty yelled out, “where’s my old man!!!”

The platoon responded with “old man up!!!”

When i got up to the front he said, “just begin!”

“sir?”

“Sir what! BEGIN!!!”

So i start doing push ups not really knowing what I did wrong.

“STOP! When you come up say ‘happy’. When you go down say ‘birthday’. When you come again say ‘to’. When you go down say ‘me’. BEGIN!”

“happy…
birthday..
to…
me”

“happy…
birthday..
to…
me”

“happy…
birthday..
to…
me”

I like this birthday a little better than my one bootcamp. Think I’m gonna go buy a donut.

Happy Birthday to the Deist!

8 responses to “Happy Birthday to me !!!!

  1. Happy birthday indeed! That is no small feat. It’s fun to see the stats too, and realize over time how many people you can reach.

  2. Heh. A fellow Gemini. I knew there was a reason I liked you, Jules. 😀

    Namaste.

  3. Hey! Johnny P! you back from you blogging hiatus. Good to see you here. Well, I’m not a Gemini but I guess the blog is or is it a Cancer? I don’t know. I had my blog peep Amuirin tell me she thought I seemed rather balanced. Maybe I should be a Gemini. 🙂

    Hi Shelby! It is pretty cool to see how many people have been by my place here. I imagine your stats jumped tremendously when you were added to UU World. I don’t think I could do it. Too much pressure to be responsible. 🙂

    hope y’all have a good week.
    Jules

  4. Happy Birthday, jules. You are indeed a Cancer, but just barely. One day earlier, you would have been a Gemini.

    Peace my friend…

  5. Happy happy! Birthday, birthday! (blog, blog)

    I haven’t been here in far too long. But I’m glad you ‘stuck’ this time. I adore you, your down-to earth prose and thoughtful, inclusive perspective.

    So…

    whaddya wating for, Jules?

    Begin!

  6. Happy anniversary, happy anniversay . . . (isn’t that from the Flintstones or some nonsense?) Anyway, I too am glad it stuck this time. While I did a couple of posts in Feb of 2007, I didn’t start in earnest until July. So, I’m gonna be 1 too. You can be my big bro. 🙂

  7. Pingback: half way through « a UU Deist in Texas

  8. Pingback: another year notched « a UU Deist in Texas

Leave a Reply

