three more days till Tour de France

I’m really looking forward to watching some of the bike ride this year. I guess to your average person it’s about as boring as watching paint dry but I get geeked out over this event… just like I do the Westminster Dog Show or the Hawaii Ironman. Ok, I know… I’m weird but I really do like watching the Westminster and the Ironman.

The U.S. has two teams in the ride this year:

  • Flag of the United States United States of America
Team Garmin-Chipotle
Team Columbia
Here is a quick description from the Tour’s website.

Tour de France 2008

Running from Saturday July 5th to Sunday July 27th 2008, the 95th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,500 kilometres.

These 21 stages have the following profiles:

  • 10 flat stages,
  • 5 mountain stages,
  • 4 medium mountain stages,
  • 2 individual time-trial stages.

Distinctive aspects of the race

  • 4 mountain finishes,
  • 2 rest days,
  • 82 kilometres of individual time-trials,
  • 17 Category 1, Category 2 and highest level passes will be climbed.

4 responses to “three more days till Tour de France

  1. Ok… but aren’t they all on performance enhancing drugs? Kinda takes the amazing part out of it.

  2. I don’t know if I should say this. It isn’t a very UU or deist thing to say, but I read the words in your opening paragraph to say ‘Westminster Dong Show’, and …well, I thought, ‘Hey, I might could get excited about *that*.’

    (you can totally erase this)

  3. hee hee hee… dong show.

    I’m not sure if it’s a UU or deist thing to say but I’m pretty sure it’s a Jules thing to say which is why i giggle about this every time i think of it. Surprised I didn’t see it. : )

  4. Hey, I can’t believe I missed this post. My hubby just got back from France at a TdF related event where he rode the Stage 10 route. He was quite cold and soggy, but he made it through the 100 miles with a healing whiplash injury 🙂

Leave a Reply

