The Deistette in Texas

So a few posts ago I mentioned that I met someone. Lazy Buddhist made a comment saying something to the effect of “… well, whoever she is, she is a very lucky girl to have met you.” Thanks LB… it’s really, really sweet of you to say.

Soooo… with that comment in mind, I thought I would tell you a little bit about who she is.

I found her through yet another attempt at a dating website. And despite her profile saying she is 27 (ouch…), with two young sons (double ouch), a Christian (ouch!… like being kicked in the ding ding) and living in a small town on the other side of the state, I thought what the hell, I’ll write to her just to see.

Well, she wrote back! And in the almost month that we’ve been e-mailing, texting, sending pictures and talking on the phone I’ve gotten to know a lot about her.

Physically, she isn’t quite the type of woman I would normally date. Not that I’m not attracted to her physically, because I am very much so, it’s just, only on a couple of occasions have I ever dated a girl who is so…

hmmm… how to put this… so…

delicate and petite.

She’s five feet tall and not even a hundred pounds soaking wet and you know what…. I love it! I love that she is as short as I am… actually shorter.

She’s really cute in her physical features but not out-of-my-league gorgeous and her shy personality and modest nature has her kind of vanish into any group, as she tends to not really draw attention to herself, both of which I kind of find rather appealing. She’s conservative in the way she dresses… mostly just tank tops, t-shirts and jeans. I myself, am pretty much a t-shirt and jeans kinda guy as well. She’s careful about her actions for safety’s sake and careful with her words as she doesn’t like confrontation or arguing, although she’s not afraid to stand her ground. Ditto and ditto. We’re like peas and carrots.

Despite her conservative nature she has a liberal streak, too. She’s eco conscious at least as much as she can be and afford to be. She cares a great deal about animals and stands on the side of love (note the chalice in the picture and i love the expression of the little blond girl : ) when it comes to family rights. Her hidden liberal streak that she maintains underneath her conservative demeanor, to me, is sexy as hell.

Other things I’ve learned about The Deist-ette is that her view of God is very much like mine. She said she actually went to the UU Church in the town where she lives (as well as one in Sioux Falls where she used to live) for a little while but began taking her sons to a Methodist church (that’s why she put Christian in her profile) because it was bigger and had more activities for her boys. Against all of my better judgment, I let her know my blog address (so yes… she’s reading me. Hi Deistette!) and she told me the next day she never knew her view of God had a name… Deism. I find it rather amazing to say the least.

It must sound like I’m gushing over this girl and romanticizing some of her qualities but she does have some quirks. Weird little eccentricities that, although endearing now, I suspect will become annoying later… like she doesn’t like to handle raw meat. (blink, blink, blink) 😐 She gets grossed out by mushrooms. She rarely, if ever… I would dare say, never wears heels (this i was looking forward to with she being nearly three inches shorter than me). She’s allergic to nuts of all kinds. She has a funny, nervous little giggle thing that she does quite a bit when she says certain statements. She’s kind of a nerd… actually, there’s no “kinda” about it… she IS a nerd (most who qualify for mensa are). And I could probably keep on going about little things that when added up, might lead to death by a thousand little cuts…

But you know what…

she has a sweet, kind, gentle and beautiful little heart and soul.

And she likes me.

And despite her weird quirks…

i like her. I really, really like her.

So that’s who she is, LB. Those little cuts are nothing that a little Neosporin can’t patch up, right.
Eh, who knows… she may decide that my weird quirks (and I know I’ve got ’em) are just too much for her to handle and she’ll throw me back into the ocean before too long.

I wonder if they have Neosporin out where she lives.

[The Deist hits publish and heads off to lunch singing… “heart and soul… dah-dah dah-dah dah-dah heart and soul“]

10 responses to “The Deistette in Texas

  1. Good for ya’ll, hope things run the way they should.

    My age makes me laugh when you say:
    “She’s conservative in the way she dresses… mostly just tank tops, t-shirts and jeans”.
    I recall when an outfit like that would get one kicked out of school – as it was considered totally outrageous attire. Things sure do change, don’t they….

  2. You are just too cute.

  3. Steven… hey thanks for stoppin by. You know… I hadn’t even thought of that.

    Ha. I guess it is relative. I mean, in the pictures I’ve seen, her jeans are a little snug but to me that wasn’t to risqué 🙂

    [blush] thanks Jackie. she’s pretty cute, too.

  4. Awww. I actually came by to comment on your other post about your new and budding relationship and then saw this one. You have an interesting way of talking about her—you are practical and romantic at the same time! 🙂 Loved the video. I think the two of them are one of the great romances on television. Best to both of you!

  5. See, there ya go proving my point. You are such a sweetie and I reinterate my statement about any girl being lucky to know you.

    As to her quirks, frankly those are pretty adorable ones. Grossed out by mushrooms? That’s pretty funny.

    Welcome, Deist-ette! You take good care of our Deist. And hey, maybe surprise him sometime with a pair of heels. 😉

  6. Ahhh, this is so cool. Congrats, Jules. I too love the Niles and Daphne video. I miss that show!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog as well. Things are working out. My monkey-mind sometimes just gets the best of me, and I have to remember that. 😛

  7. Go ahead. Gush. It becomes you!

  8. B-mom!!! how i’ve missed you so. hug hug hug hug hug hug hug hug!

  9. Pingback: i think… i’m gonna… puke. « a UU Deist in Texas

  10. Pingback: me and the little man « a UU Deist in Texas

Leave a Reply

