well, we didn’t kill each other

In my previous post I talked about how my little Deistette was coming down to H-town from up in the panhandle to visit me. It was nice. It was a really nice visit as we got to learn more about each other.

It was weird for me as well. Weird having someone in my space. Weird to wake up with someone next to me. Weird to walk sideways so not to bump into each other in the hall, weird to wait to go to the restroom, weird to think “oh god, can she hear me going to the restroom.” : )

There was lots of saying “oh… sorry” as we maneuvered around each other. There were quite a few moments when I thought, “huh… i didn’t know that about her.” And it was an unusual but familiar experience (I’m referring to having been married before) to have the place where I occupy space double in its population.

The best thing about it all is she misses me and i miss her and that she’s coming back soon.

I think it’s a good sign this little dog is gonna get adopted.

4 responses to “well, we didn’t kill each other

  1. I’ll be interested to see how this progresses. I am inherently cynical about this kind of thing, especially when the first in-person meeting involves, um, waking up next to each other … you probably have no interest whatsoever in my opinon, but I think longer-physical-distance relationships have the greatest chance of becoming distorted in each participant’s mind, as the lack of literal dailiness reinforces the capacity for projection.

    But I am, as everyone knows, the most depressingly practical, logcial, unromantic bastard in the world. I hope you prove me wrong, wrong, wrong in every possible way, and ride off into a blissful Texas sunset with your non-meat-handling sweetie.

  2. Ah, yes, proximity, space, being there. Been there, am there, wish you well!

Leave a Reply

