teeny, tiny, little bitty

snake.

Found this little guy yesterday while out running in my neighborhood. He was trying to cross a sidewalk and I figured if I scooped him up and placed him near a little water spot near in my backyard he would stand a better chance of not getting eaten by fire ants or other critters.

It’s the smallest snake I’ve ever seen.

Of course, it occurred to me that he will eventually turn into a big snake after i let him loose in my backyard. Unless it’s just some sort of grass snake. Any snake experts out there who can tell what kind of snake this is?

I thought maybe it’s a baby Texas Brown Snake.

I guess a little brown snake wouldn’t be so bad.

7 responses to “teeny, tiny, little bitty

  1. Wow, that’s really cool Jules. I’m so glad you posted a picture.

  2. That’s the ittiest, bittiest, little snakey I’ve ever seen! I didn’t know they came that small. Thanks for saving the little friend, hope life works out well for the critter.

  3. It’s so cute! I’m amazed you even were able to see it crossing the sidewalk, it’s so teensy.

  4. Awwwwwwwwww. Such a cutie. But, no, no, really. I don’t need a baby snake. Seriously. I’m good on the snake front.

  5. Adorable, Jules. That is the tiniest little dude ever. We have lots of snakes in our fields, and we always keep them. They’re really beneficial creatures, as long as they’re not poisonous (which, around here, a rattler would be completely out of its normal habitat).

    Here’s a link to the last baby snake I photographed, although it wasn’t nearly so tiny as yours:

    http://redravine.wordpress.com/2008/06/07/two-green-babies-haiku/

  6. Wow. Sorry, I’ve been so absent……..what a cool post to come back to, I’m showing my boys in the morning.

  7. Yep, that is a little Texas Brown. I see these in the pool skimmer pretty often. Really friendly snake. Nice pic.

Leave a Reply

