something kinda fun

ok, so I’ve mentioned I play in a band with some friends.

But this little exercise let’s anyone create their very own band. Following the directions in this meme I found at my blog peep The Muse’s place you, too can have your very own (faux) band!

Here are the rules (and if you are reading this, you may consider yourself tagged). Let me know what cool band you’re in!

1 – Go to Wikipedia. Hit “random” or click http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Random
The first random Wikipedia article you get is the name of your band. If it’s already the name of a band, you can hit random again.

2 – Go to “random quotations” or click http://www.quotationspage.com/random.php3
The last four or five words of the very last quote of the page is the title of your first album.

3 – Go to Flickr and click on “explore the last seven days”
or click http://www.flickr.com/explore/interesting/7days
Third picture, no matter what it is, will be your album cover.

4 – Use Photoshop or similar to put it all together.

5 – Post it to your blog with this text and tag the blog buddies you want to join in.

I followed the directions and here is the result. We sound kinda like The Pixies, The Shins with a hint of Fu Manchu and a sprinkle of Dashboard Confessional along with emo and shoegazer influences. Look for our release soon!

my-new-band

album cover photo by Erik J. Gustafson

4 responses to “something kinda fun

  1. I like yours, I did one a while back, tons of fun this.

  2. Hi there! I’m your swap partner & I was just stopping by to say hello. Love what you came up with on the band thing.

    -Morgan

  3. You need to email me a mailing address. I have your swap pack ready to go.

  4. “by those those who borrow them” —quite a mystical title, there, Jules! Love the picture, too, and the name of your band! When this is released, I’ll be first in line. I appreciate you doing the meme, and the videos you included just added to the experience!

Leave a Reply

