rehearing Prop 8 in California

From what I understand, the California Supreme Court has 90 days from the hearing that was held on March 5th to decide what it’s going to do in regards to Prop 8 once and for all.

I still don’t understand why letting anyone get married is so offensive to some people. In the video link below you’ll see there is guy “A” yelling to guy “B”, “you’re going to hell!!” It’s at about 1:16. He also calls him “filthy” and other not-so-nice things and wasn’t being very Christ-like although he used the Bible as the basis of his stance.

What does it matter to guy “A”. So what! Why do you care if guy “B” is going to hell.
What does it matter to you. How does it affect you!… guy A?

circular-argument

And another thing… why would anyone want the government telling them what they can or can’t do. I really don’t get it. How does any thinking person think it’s ok for the government to tell someone they can or can’t get married or do anything they want for that matter so long as it doesn’t infringe on the right of someone else right to enjoy freedom and happiness.

I know… you think it just isn’t right. You can’t just redefine a word to include other things. Marriage is one woman and one man, sanctified by God.

You know what… that’s morality. That’s the government dictating to you what is right or wrong. Do you want the government (particularly this Dem-led congress and administration) telling you what is right and wrong. The government shouldn’t be in the business of legislating morality. It should be in the business of legislating behavior that would infringe upon the right of an individual’s right to pursue liberty and happiness.

Liberty. Look it up.

~~~~~

On being right
Last night, The Deistette and I were making dinner and she was being so very particular and calculating as she pulled out and used ever last measuring spoon to create a mix of spices.

I said, “what are you doing! Why are you doing that. You’re burning up every last friggin spoon we’ve got in the drawer and I don’t want to have to clean up all this mess.”

She retaliated with, “I’m doing this so the mix of spices will be right.”

“you know what Em… ‘right’ is a very fluid concept. I’m hungry and I don’t want to do all these dishes. “Right” is very fluid right now. Go with it.”

My point with that little glimpse into our nightly routine is “what the hell is right anyway!” Who are you or our government to tell me what is right for me.

That idea can be re-emphasized by the scene in the movie City Slickers when the question of the meaning of life is discussed.

Curly: Do you know what the secret of life is? [Curly holds up one finger]. This.
Mitch: Your finger?
Curly: One thing. Just one thing. You stick to that and the rest don’t mean NOTHIN`.
Mitch: But, what is the “one thing?”
Curly: [smiles] That’s what you have to find out.

Goddamn guys… give it a rest. Find your one thing and let everyone else find theirs. Your one thing doesn’t work for anyone else but you. Keep it for yourself. Polish it. Make it shine. Find others that like that one thing too and hang out with that group but don’t force it on to others and don’t force it on me. You’re being an ass when you do that.

~~~~~

Gimmie some clarity
So if a woman wants to marry a woman or a man wants to marry a man, what difference does it make to you? Ohhhhh you don’t want that shoved in your face. Hey you know what?… i don’t want to see two dudes makin out and groping each other either. Pretty friggin gross. Just as gross as seeing an opposite sex couple makin’ out and gropin each other. I mean c’mon… get a room! But I really don’t think we’re gonna see rampant makin out and groping if people are allowed to marry whoever the hell they want to.

So putting aside wherever you find your moral compass because again… the government shouldn’t be in the business of legislating morality, can anyone explain to me how he or she justifies the government dictating to the U.S. citizens what is moral or amoral.

If you answered “yes” to the question “is it ok for the government to decide who can get married” tell me how you reconcile that. I really want to know. Because if you can explain that to me, I’ll tear up my Libertarian Party membership card and then I’ll know why the government should be able to tell two people in love they cannot receive the benefits that come with civil partnership.

Until then I’ll refer to you as what you really are: A Theocrat and suggest you move to Afghanistan where they enforce the days of a Theocracy.

3 responses to “rehearing Prop 8 in California

  1. I don’t get it either.

    Keep writing. Sometimes we read you, but aren’t sure what to say.

  2. Jules, you’re right about the 90 days. I work at the SF civic center and saw the protesters, cops, media folk, etc. outside the court. I watched it on TV, too, and given the questions the justices were asking I doubt they will overturn what the voters enacted.

    My sense has been that, over time, the younger generations will come in to the electorate and these votes will change. I still think it, but I sure got another take on it while in Florida. I blogged about it, here:

    My Most Hair-Raising Moment


    if interested. That show was rather surreal.

  3. Thanks Am. I pulled myself off the UU aggregator and noticed my stats fell quite a bit. I only get about two dozen or so reads a day so it’s nice to see you say, y’all are still out the looking me over.

    Ombud – wow… I started taking a peek at that movie a bit today while settling in to work and it’s seems like such waisted energy. I don’t know… just seems like they could use that energy for something more positive. Rather than demonizing and using “us” and “them” language maybe they could do something that doesn’t seem so militant.

Leave a comment