a little bike ride this weekend

ok, I’m completely exaggerating with the post heading. This weekend is my bicycle ride from Houston to Austin.

Admittedly I’m pretty friggin scared. I haven’t trained like I should have and the weather is gonna be really, really bad. Not a good combination to be riding on wet rode with 1/2″ slicks under your butt. People have gotten hurt really bad during the ride even in good weather. A few years ago I, along with a bunch of other riders, waited as officials held us back so LifeFlight could come and take someone to the hospital.

I know there have been people who have died because of hit-and-run accidents while training for the ride but I don’t know of any deaths that have occurred during the actual ride in the 25 year history of the MS 150. I’m sure it’s happened once or twice.

I don’t know… maybe I’m getting a little weirded out because of the weather. It’s pretty dark outside right now and it’s noon.

Say a little prayer for me y’all, send positive energy, light a candle, raise a glass or whatever it is you do that can keep me safe on this ride. I’ll need all the help I can get.

By the way… thank you, thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! to my anonymous donor who sent such a generous gift on my behalf. For some reason it isn’t showing up on my rider page but I plan to fix that by emailing the MS Society every day until they fix it.

LB… thanks again to you, too for your very generous donation. Big bunches of love and hugs to you my friend.

And if any of y’all have a buck or two you can spare, I still need a few more donations to meet my pledge requirement. I’d really appreciate it if you could put something in the bucket.

Thanks everyone… wish me luck.

3 responses to “a little bike ride this weekend

  1. From a UU in Houston – I’m on my way to La Grange – I hope you do well!

  2. Hey Kenneth… thanks for the wake up call. I think I heard my blackberry vibrating in my sleep and it woke me up a little earlier than I intended. It’s probably better that I get up now. Thanks for the well wishes. Same to you.

    Thanks for wishing me luck, Erin. I’ll need it. And thank you so, SO much for your donation. It’s very kind of you.

    I’ll post some pics Monday or Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

