Sunday grillin’

I haven’t done this in a long time. It was really nice to just relax on a Sunday afternoon.

I used to fire up the grill once every couple of months or so but after the ex wife and I split six years ago that kinda fell to the wayside. I mean, I was in survival mode, financially and emotionally and i didn’t have the time to do anything but work and sleep. In fact, I went so long without tending to that old grill that it fell to the elements and now is pretty much just a big pile of rust.

I guess it’s apprapo as it was a wedding gift… it fell into ruin just like that marriage.

But I digress. This isn’t about then. It’s about now. It’s about firing up the grill yesterday.

new grillI’d kinda forgotten how I liked cooking out on the grill.

This one is quite a bit smaller than the old one I used. The old one had a firebox and the grill part was about three feet long. But this little one gets the job done.

Here she is puffing a little smoke out of the vent.

The Deistette doesn’t really eat a lot of meat… she might have a small serving at one meal during the day but that doesn’t happen every day. Well she conceded to a pretty big serving for Sunday grillin’ but she couldn’t quite do it. After taking a couple of bites… she couldn’t finish. She just doesn’t really eat a lot of meat.

chicken on the grillNow The Little Man on the other hand… HE is a carnivore. And he could barely wait as this little grill started puffin’ out the wonderful smell of chicken on the grill. His little brother, who I call Tank (built nothing like The Little Man who is kinda skinny and lanky) is solid and stout. He on the other hand doesn’t really care for the grilled chicken. Oh well… more for us. : )

You know… I haven’t mentioned that Tank has been with us for about three weeks. Emmie’s divorce decree allows her to have her youngest visit us from the Panhandle for a few weeks during the summer and so he’s here with us until next week. It’s kind of a long story on how she got one of the boys and her ex has the other so I’ll leave that for another post.

Of course another great thing about grillin’ on a Sunday afternoon… is a nice brown ale. The St Arnold’s Brewery makes a nice one and there’s a surprise under every cap.

I think these words sum up my Sunday pretty well.

peace love beeer

4 responses to “Sunday grillin’

  1. What a lovely Sunday. Love that bottom photo. Have fun w/ the kids…

  2. I hadn’t grilled since my divorce since the grill stayed with the ex who never grilled in the first place. During the last two weeks in Washington state I was able to reexperience my love of all things grilled by grilling up a storm. Grilling makes me happy. I love me some grilled food.

  3. sounds like a great wrap up to your weekend.

  4. hi hi.

    made a spoken word blogcast, per your request.

    Interesting fact: my voice gets really annoying after about 4 minutes.

Leave a Reply

