poking at believers and non-believers

I was listening to the Pacifica Station here in Houston yesterday. I normally don’t.  But as I was changing from FM1 down to AM, I had to punch through FM2 where 90.1 KPFT was playing. The DJ caught my attention by saying the next song was brand new. So I paused for just a second to hear what it would be.

It’s by Regina Spektor (who I’ve never heard of) and was released about a month ago.  The lyrics made my ears perk up immediately so I listened to hear what this song was about.

I think she’s making fun of those who don’t believe in God (perhaps a UU or two?) but when shit hits the fan… well, as she said, “no one laughs…” And I think she’s poking fun at those who believe God grants wishes like a genie.

I’m curious about your thoughts.

3 responses to “poking at believers and non-believers

  1. Interesting. Hadn’t heard the song either.
    As usual, I like your take.

  2. I don’t know…is this a take on “There are no Atheists in Foxholes.”? It seems weird to “laugh at” God either way. I think there are plenty of Atheists in Foxholes, by the way. It’s a nice song, and she is lovely, and I’m not sure what to make of this! 🙂

  3. Hello Julian,

    Long time and all that… Responded to your comment on my blog. 🙂

    Regarding this song, I have to disagree with you. I don’t think it’s about poking fun at anyone. Rather, I think the singer is just trying to get people to think outside their comfort zone. It’s easy to see this as either a song that ridicules Atheists or Fundamentalists – but by placing the two in juxtaposition, the careful listener will instead be left with more questions than answers.

    Namaste.

Leave a Reply

