and the Dixie Chicks were ashamed to be from Texas?

Well, add The Deist to that list! I just found out that the legislature of my home state did one of the stupidest things in the history of things that state legislatures have done… EVER!

Apparently Texas high schools are now required to offer (as an elective) a class that teaches The Bible. How did I miss this?… it passed two years ago and it begins this school year.

What I am hoping will happen is this will be challenged, defeated and left in church where it belongs. Hello 1st Amendment!

Until then, I suspect what will happen is the students who take this class will fall into one of three categories:

  1. kids who have been taking Bible study in church and are hoping to score an easy A.
  2. objective, smart kids who hope the class will actually teach them something new and will ask about the inconsistencies and contradictions or
  3. stoner kids hoping they can score on the churchy kids.

I am hoping the person who teaches this class is either:

  1. an atheist who knows the Bible inside and out and will bury the kids looking for an easy A.
  2. a fundamentalist who gets stumped by the smart kids and made to look like a dumbass or
  3. the football coach who doesn’t teach a thing except why it’s called a hail Mary.

Ok, in all seriousness, if I could be convinced that the class would be taught objectively, I would be all for it and would highly urge Little Fawn (to first time readers, Little Fawn is my daughter) to take the class. I’m sure it would be fascinating for her to see how the Bible has influenced so much of our culture. Unfortunately, I don’t think that is possible… from either side, fundamentalist or atheist. I can’t imagine there is a teacher out there in the Texas school system who is knowledgeable enough in Biblical archeology, Middle Eastern history, Biblical anthropology, Greek, Aramaic, Hebrew and the numerous other subsets of study that is certainly needed to effectively present objectively a tremendously complex piece of literature.

But the state of Texas is gonna give it a go and try to ramp up the teachers who’ve signed on to teach this class.

From The Daily Texan published Aug 7, 2009

The Daily Texan sat in on a morning lecture to better understand the University’s role in educating teachers and, ultimately, avoiding lawsuits.

The session revolved around the first few sentences of the Book of Isaiah. After a few minutes, it became stunningly clear that the teachers, though extremely eager to learn, are unprepared to offer insights on the Bible’s historical and literary contexts. Granted, the Bible is a difficult text to understand, but the teachers struggled with the simple nuances of passages. Of course, as nearly none of the participants have formal experience in teaching the Bible, such a nascent scholarly understanding of the Bible is expected. But these educators, still learning themselves, should not be asked to teach such demanding and potentially controversial courses.

dumb asses in Austin. Bunch of dumb asses.

Right now….

God, I hate saying I’m from Texas.

6 responses to “and the Dixie Chicks were ashamed to be from Texas?

  1. Pingback: and the Dixie Chicks were ashamed to be from Texas? « a UU Deist …

  2. Keith Olbermann is a imbecile and a lier, he cares little for reporting actual facts all he is doing is looking for ratings from let wing nut jobs. Did you notice he said it was a “mandatory” class for the students? If he got his facts straight he would have reported that it is mandatory that the class if offered but the class is an elective for students to choose from. No one is forcing students to take the class.

    Is this not what Darwinists have been chanting for years, “keep religion out of the science class, it should be taught in it’s own class”, well be careful what you ask for.

  3. Hey Mike… thanks for stopping by my place. I think I’ve seen your blog now and again on WP, so thanks for commenting here.

    So as to Mr. Olberman’s intelligence or integrity I can’t really comment. But I’m pretty sure every single one of us has lied as well as done something that could be called dumb, and I betcha most, if not all of us, lie and do dumb things on a regular basis, Christians included.

    You’ll see a good example of me calling myself out on this in my next post… stay tuned.
    But, beware of casting stones… someone might call you out on something.

    As to the Darwinists… I don’t know if they’ve been calling for religion to be taught in it’s own class as much as remaining taught in church. Not a good idea to let it trickle into the classroom. Remember that whole separation of church and state thing.

    What this does is open the door for every religion to have it’s spot in the classroom and that just isn’t good for anyone. I suspect Christians would be quick to jump on the 1st Amendment bandwagon should the Koran be offered as an elective.

  4. Thanks for the cordial welcome. I am not saying that I am sin free, but what I am pointing out is that Keith presents himself as a source of information and the information he is presenting is false. I would avoid using his commentary to back up any of your points.

    I can not cite instances at this moment but in the last year that I have spent on blogs those in favor of keeping intelligent design or creation out of science class rooms have said many times that religion should be taught in a religion class.

    I would have no problem with any religion being taught in a government school as long as it is an elective. I believe in equal rights across all lines, so if tax payers are footing the bill then all tax payers should have their religion or beliefs available in the schools.

    Word to the wise, be careful throwing out the phrase “separation of church and state”, I have read the original writings of Thomas Jefferson when he made that statement and he was talking about keeping the government away from religion, not the other way around. He never intended God and the Bible to be removed from any public venue, he intended to keep the government out of the church. Besides are you sure you want to make public policy out of a letter written to a bishop by a politician? Stick to the Constitution for law.

    I look forward to your response and hope you take time when you can to stop by my blog and let me know what you think.

  5. Raphael Hythloday

    Olbermann’s shtick was pathetic. I oppose teaching the Bible in public schools as much as anyone but we’re not going to win any converts by misrepresenting the truth about what the Texas law does. Olbermann, way to go, you just scored a point for the opposition. Please don’t try to play on my team anymore until you have the story straight.

  6. Hey Raphael (i like the moniker by the way)… I’d have to agree. Ken screwed the pooch on that one. I was just using it because of him designating the Texas state school board as the worst person in the world.

    Hey Mike… sorry for the delayed response. In throwing around the “separation of church and state” reference, I was using a colloquialism that most people use when referencing the first amendment. I am no academic or constitutional scholar but I suspect many of them use the same reference for the first amendment as well.

    I haven’t read much if any of Jefferson’s writings except the Jefferson Bible. And even then it was only to look through it and see where he scratched out all the stuff he thought was crap so, I don’t know of the letter you reference.

    But I do know that in today’s modern world we believe the first amendment to mean not only to keep government out of church but to keep church out of government as well.

Leave a Reply

