One shot… one kill

It’s a saying we used to have in the Marine Corps that was first learned when we were being taught marksmanship skills.  The drill instructors used it to instill the idea that every round sent down range HAD to count or you could be a dead Marine.

Later in a young Marine’s career it could be applied to a metaphorical “do or die” situation where a Marine made one attempt at something and was successful in his endeavor.  For example, Marine is playing basketball and it’s the end of the game. His team is down by two points.  Marine buries a long three point shot. Game won!  Boom! One shot… one kill!

So you get the idea.

Well, I just heard of someone who did that recently in their own do or die situation that so many people in this country have not been able to do.  It’s almost miraculous.  It seems so beyond the realm of reason that it if I weren’t a deist I might say IS miraculous.

This person is a friend of my dad’s from church and has been caring for my step-mom during the day while he is at work.  My step-mom has been a quadraplegic for a little more than a year and needs someone with her all the time now.

Anyway… Angela, her caretaker, told my dad she needed to find another job because her husband’s company said everyone would be receiving a 5% cut in pay to keep the company afloat after having taken a 20% cut three months earlier.

Shortly after (like days) Angela got a tip/recommendation from a friend, went on the interview and got the job!

If I had been in Vegas I would have put every penny I had on her NOT getting the job.  My wife told me of someone she read about who had sent her resume to 700+ job openings in about a year, got about 50 interviews and STILL had nothing.  College educated person with a master’s degree!

My wife actually found herself in a room last year at an interview where the person hiring said they had received about 700 or so resumes in just one day.  Thirty people were interviewed.  One got the job.  It wasn’t Emmie.

A few weeks later and I’m still in shock that Angela got the job.  Well, she is  a church-going girl… maybe God really does give people a hand now and again.

😐     blink, blink, blink.

whoah!… sorry about that.  I had a momentary lapse of reason.  Almost slipped off the ol’ deist bandwagon. : )

Congrats Angela.  I know your family really needed it.

Leave a Reply

