Happy Birthday Gautama Buddha

The paragraph below comes from a link at the History Channel’s website.

On this day, Buddhists celebrate the commemoration of the birth of Gautama Buddha, the founder of Buddhism, thought to have lived in India from 563 B.C. to 483 B.C. Actually, the Buddhist tradition that celebrates his birthday on April 8 originally placed his birth in the 11th century B.C., and it was not until the modern era that scholars determined that he was more likely born in the sixth century B.C., and possibly in May rather than April.

Yesterday PBS aired a documentary on the life of the Buddha and his teachings.  I have been enjoying it immensely on YouTube.  Below is the 1st of 19 parts TheBuddhaPBS youtube channel has posted.

3 responses to “Happy Birthday Gautama Buddha

  1. Definitely an anniversary worth celebrating.

    How would Gautama want us to commemorate his birth? I’m guessing not with cake and candles–but I don’t know.

  2. The PBS documentary was great. I saw it on Saturday. I’d told my family that I wanted to see it and to remind me when it was on (it played several different days) and sure enough, they reminded me. I keep meaning to Tweet or do something to let folks know it was on. Glad to know you saw it, too.

  3. It was very good! I thought I knew quite a bit about Buddha’s life; turns out I learned a lot!

Leave a Reply

