The Deistette is really just a momma’s-girl

Emmie’s mom is coming to live with us.  She’s coming to live with us in two days.

Yes, you read that right. My mother in-law is coming to live with me, my wife, my stepson, my daughter (on the weekends she’s here) our dog and two cats in our teeny tiny 1,190 square foot house.

They are both are extremely excited about the prospect. Me… I don’t know. I was talking to her (my mother in-law) on the phone last night and she said how excited she was about it and how she’s really looking forward to being here with us.

She asked if I was excited.  I kinda felt put on the spot.  I didn’t really know how to answer because “excited” is definitely NOT the word I would use to describe how I’m feeling about this.  I would probably use words like “nervous”, “worried”, “anxious”, “concerned”.

I mean for one, it’s a small house.  Three very small bedrooms with only one and a half baths.  Secondly, Emmie and I are still getting to know each other.   We’ve only been married for about a year and a half.

But I know Em is excited.  It’s been hard for her being here in Houston not knowing anyone and her momma living in the panhandle.  She says she’s nervous but I know she’s really happy about her mom coming here.

And so… I am happy.

There have been a couple of major events I’ve written about on the ol’ blog.  I believe this can be added to the list.

4 responses to “The Deistette is really just a momma’s-girl

  1. Yowk. It’s enough for me to have a Ma-in-law who moved from Modesto, CA to Alameda and lives across town from us.

    I think this could be kinda perilous myself, man. Blood is thicker’n the in-law relationship, after all. Maybe it’s not too bad to let her know you have some concern?

    • Hey Ombud! sorry i haven’t been around your place in a while. as you can see from this post, I have been busy trying to get things ready at La Casa Jules.

      Yeah… so blood might be thicker but it certainly doesn’t have the viscosity of a little beer-veza. If the spellings and syntax of my posts start looking really weird from here on out you can rest assured I have taken the advice of one John “Bluto” Blutarski My advice to you is to start drinking heavily.

      You wouldn’t happen to have nice brown ale you’ve been brewin’ in your garage you could send me do you? : )

  2. 2 days? Really? My sister, her husband and their 3 kids stayed with me in my 1-bedroom, 682 square foot apartment for a week earlier this summer. Good thing I don’t have a dog. I had a meltdown on Day 2 that continued on and off until they left. I’m a rotten person.

  3. Hey Pammy… Well, this was written about three weeks ago but so far, it’s not too bad except she hasn’t been able to find a job yet. Of course her first week and half after moving here was settling in. You know, stuff like painting her room, unpacking, putting stuff in its place… all that good stuff.

    I’m gone most of the day and when I am at the house it’s only a few hours and it’s off to bed so no meltdown yet.

    Notice the word, “yet” is used. : )

Leave a Reply

