The age of the 14th Dalai Lama

Yesterday His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama celebrated his 75th birthday.

I heard this on the radio yesterday and it got me to thinking… what a tremendous age we have been living in.   In just my lifetime (the past 40+ years) there have been giants of humanity that have had a positive influence on our world. (e.g. Martin Luther King Jr, Ghandi, Mother Theresa, Stephen Hawking and the list could go on of people in science, politics and faith)

I few years ago I had the chance to hear His Holiness speak at Rice University here in Houston.  It was great. Such a wonderful talk he gave on his usual topic… compassion.

An interesting side story… while standing in line I was right behind Dr Robert Thurman, who is a highly regarded Buddhist scholar and supposedly personal friend of the Dalai Lama.

I said, “Dr Thurman?”
“Yes?”
“I… uh…”
“Yes?”
“I just wanted to say hello. I saw your interview in that movie called ‘One’. And well… hi. [and i stuck out my hand]”
He said, “hello,” and shook my hand.

Nice guy, Dr Thurman.

Anyway… that’s it. Happy Birthday Dalai Lama wherever you are.

4 responses to “The age of the 14th Dalai Lama

  1. Whenever I think of His Holiness, I think of his infectious laugh. It is the sound of pure joy, compassion, and humility. Was his speech filled with laughter when you saw him at Rice? I would love to see him speak in person! You’re right–we’re living in an amazing age and what a blessing to read your post and be reminded of it.

    Have you seen the Buddha documentary on PBS? If not, based on some of your posts here, I think you would enjoy it thoroughly. It’s narrated by Richard Gere with interviews of The Dalai Lama and dozens of other lovely Buddhas-to-Be.

  2. Hey Sherry! Yeah, he injected quite a bit of humor in his talk and he does have a pretty contagious laugh… you can’t help but laugh along with him when he starts up.

    And I have seen the Buddha documentary. Really cool documentary. Loved it.

  3. Hey Jules, how are things on the home front? Are you getting much of that infectious laughter in there?

  4. Hey Ombud. Thanks for checkin’ in on me. Things are ok so far. Well, ok with the newly added roommate anyway
    .
    Financially?… the economy is still putting a squeeze on me. Actually it’s gotten tighter. Emmie found out last week she’ll be losing her job at the end of the month. Downsizing. If she doesn’t find something really soon I’m not sure what we’ll do.

Leave a Reply

