A final resting place

My blog has been up for eight years as of today.
Despite not having written a single post for more than a year I can confirm I am still alive and kicking. The “kicking” part of that sentence however is rather fluid as I am not the spring chicken I once was. : )

In that eight years I’ve had a lot of draft posts that never quite made it onto the blog. Some didn’t make it because they were junk. Some because they were timely and I didn’t get it done in time. There is one I’m glad I never “had” to get done. I wish I had but turns out it wasn’t necessary. You see, after a couple of years of posting here, I thought maybe I should put in place some sort of method for letting my blog buddies know I had gone to that great blog conference in the sky should I meet my demise rather suddenly. My plan was to write my final farewell and set it to publish 30 days out. As long as I published at least one post in a month, I could set my farewell post out another month.

I never wrote that post, yet always kept it in my head that I needed to get that done. I figured it would be the nice thing to do. I can remember reading a few posts here and there on the interwebs about a blogger who had died and many of his or her friends wondered what happened until somehow it was confirmed that said blogger had in fact, died.
Hm. 😐

Anyway, on a different but related note….

[sigh]

I think I’m gonna change my blog up a little.

Actually by ‘change’ I mean ‘kill’.

When I first started posting here I didn’t really know much about blogging and what to expect. I never really anticipated that many people would read it and I guess I thought it would simply be a chronicle of my thoughts that my daughter might read later.

I was wrong about that.
There were people who read my posts… quite a few in fact.
From that I “met” some really wonderful people through the WP community and my blog…. and I am so, so very glad and thankful for my blogging buddies I interacted with here. You are so very dear to me. I can’t express enough how much your online friendship has meant to me.

Ugh… I’m getting a little verklempt here.

Anyway, I also thought when I started writing here I was going to blog about things Unitarian Universalist, as well as Deist ideas (hence the name and blog title) but I found I don’t really do that so much anymore nor have I ever. I thought I was being clever by choosing my WP sub domain though thinking I would write a lot about religion, spirituality, etc.
I’ve never explained why my WP subdomain is luke1720.wordpress. It’s a reference to one of my favorite bits of Scripture from the Christian Holy Book; Luke 17:20-21

20 Once, on being asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, Jesus replied, “The coming of the kingdom of God is not something that can be observed, 21 nor will people say, ‘Here it is,’ or ‘There it is,’ because the kingdom of God is within you.”

That’s where I think it is,too. I think we have a little piece of the Divine inside us and if we listen hard enough, if we try really hard we can be transformed and find the peace and beauty of the Kingdom within ourselves.

That idea about a spiritual kingdom within us is also expressed in the Gnostic gospel The Gospel of Thomas, Saying 3.

3. Jesus said, “If your leaders say to you, ‘Look, the (Father’s) kingdom is in the sky,’ then the birds of the sky will precede you. If they say to you, ‘It is in the sea,’ then the fish will precede you. Rather, the (Father’s) kingdom is within you and it is outside you.

Guess it’s fitting that my last post be about religion and specifically eschatology. A bit odd because except for the first year or so of the eight that this blog has been up, I’m not sure that I really did post much on UU or Deist ideas/issues. There were some UU-ish and Deist-esque posts now and again I suppose but for the most part this has really been more of a personal blog written by someone with a UU / Deist lens on the world.

[sigh]

Speaking of personal, here’s one last personal thing to post which gives reason for more than a year of dead air…. last year, almost to the day, I went through some pretty heavy stuff… really stressful, ugly, personal, not fun marital stuff with The Deistette. There is still the aftermath I’m dealing with and probably will for the rest of my life.

I hope someday I can get back to something of a normal though. I do have that at least… hope, even if it is the slightest, littlest bit of it. So I guess this is the end. Of course if I claim to have hope maybe I should try to be more glass-is-half-full and say a new beginning.

Yeah. How ’bout I say that… a beginning.
I’ll say this, too. I love you.

And with that dear readers I bid you adieu.
Here lies my blog and it’s final resting place.

5 responses to “A final resting place

  1. oh Julian . . . it’s funny, I was just thinking of you yesterday when I was perusing my moribund blog deciding whether or not it was safe to give the URL to a friend. I saw your name, and OmsbudsBen and Truce and Robin and Corina and so many more. Some of those friendships have moved to FB, but many have dissolved into the ether. It is bittersweet to meet again only to say good-bye. But, I get it. There comes a time to cut and run, and I appreciate you stopping by to say your good-byes. I keep thinking I’ll revive my blog. Certainly some friends would appreciate me having some other forum for my writing than the long emails that I tend to write these days.

    I’m sorry for whatever pain you’re experiencing in your life, and I hope with time that it lightens. If you happen to be on FB, I’d love to be friends. You’re absolutely right, this WP bond created an intimacy even though we’ve never met in person.

    I wish you well, my friend. May you happy and well.

    *sniff*

    Mary

    • LB!!! : )
      Thank you so very much for the kind, sweet comment. I think I’d like to be friends, too!!
      I was looking through the ol blog a couple of months ago and like you so many names from comments past flooded me with fond memories. But my favorites… you, Amuirin, Bibliomom, Ombud and a couple of others brought back the good stuff.

      (((hugs)))

  2. Julian and Mary, I miss you both still. I know, I’ve been delinquent myself. The missus is on FB. Somehow, I just never warmed to it. But I always liked the flexibility of WP, how very individual it was in terms of appearances and contents, and you were both pretty special. Best of luck to you both.

  3. Luke/Julian, I miss you! I miss the mind that wrote this. This was beautifully, honestly written, I wish I had seen it sooner. If you’re out there, I hope you’re writing and sharing that heart/mind/lens.

    ❤️

    • AMUIRIN!!!!!
      Oh how I’ve missed you, too. Missed your writing. Missed the back forth. Just… (sigh) missed you.

      So, very glad you stopped by even if it is years later.
      I coincidentally was reminded of you and our little wordpress/blogging tribe about a month or so ago and poked around your blog. I saw the name of a young woman online who has the same one as your daughter’s and I thought, “God, she must be about 20 or so, right?” I poked around your blog, and mine for that matter and…

      It made me nostalgic.

      I hope you and yours are well my dear.

Leave a comment