Exposed

20140118-215728.jpg

I used to take pictures.

It’s been so long ago that it almost seems like it was in a past life. When I first started, I was in the military and took pictures that were part of news and feature stories. A few years later I began to fancy myself an arteeest and began trying to create what I “thought” was art. I actually pulled some off and there were a few people who actually considered it art and paid for my prints or asked me to exhibit.

My first attempts were crude but in time my eye developed. I tended to drift toward my journalistic side and capture images that had a human element… you know, that showed where a human presence had been. I rarely did landscapes or what I referred to derogatorily as “snapshots of trees and rocks”.

The fact is “trees and rocks” are hard to shoot and shoot well and I knew it, so I tried to place myself above those Ansel-disciples and do my cutting edge Henri Cartier-Bresson impersonations.  What’s funny is I actually did a series of only trees one time AND… had it exhibited.

It’s been a long time since I’ve taken photographs like that.

But now and again, something will catch my “eye” (which surprises me that my photographer’s eye still works) that makes me think, “this says something” and I wish I had my old Mamiya loaded with some velvety Ilford Delta400.

The above image is one that did just that and all i had was my cell phone, It was taken in an instant, filters applied the way I would have liked to have seen a final print after hours in the darkroom.  It says something… at least to me. The roots are exposed. The tender part of a tree that should be covered which help it grow and mature are all out in the open.

[sigh]

I’ve been going through the some personal stuff that is really stressful. Really stressful… taxing on my soul and is one of those times when I hope with all the faith that I have that God is listening and will send angels to calm my spirit. I pray that Providence will cover my tender parts.

I have entered another dark period, one that makes me want sit with my back in a corner with my knees to my chest bracing for impact. I can’t get everything covered and I feel quite exposed.

3 responses to “Exposed

  1. 1.) Wait. Were you a military photo journalist? We need to talk.
    2.) I love that photo
    3.) I’m sorry you’re going through a stressful time.
    4.) Remember to surrender your problem and step aside to let the divine into your life.

  2. Hey Erin! oh, how I’ve missed seeing you here. How did your walk go for the NAMI fundraiser?

    Yep, I was one of Uncle Sam’s Misguided Children for a short while… MOS4341 Combat Correspondent. I was stationed in a tiny desert town in Southern California for few years and then (believe it or not) was sent right back home to Houston, Texas at the Recruiting Station HQ as the Media Relations honcho for my second hitch.

    And thank you for your kind comment. I’m trying to not let my mind and imagination get too carried away and like you said… surrender.

  3. Pingback: baking bread and patience | a UU Deist in Texas

Leave a Reply

